1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

audio not working

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by mahaveersatra, Jul 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mahaveersatra

    mahaveersatra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    my audio hardware not working properly
    it is showing error code 10
     
  2. mahaveersatra

    mahaveersatra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 4 Stepping 1
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 247 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller, 64 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 20002 MB, Free - 12702 MB; E: Total - 29996 MB, Free - 29808 MB; F: Total - 26317 MB, Free - 24478 MB;
    Motherboard: , i845GV-8712F
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  3. mahaveersatra

    mahaveersatra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    please help me its getting worse without sound
     
  4. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,652
    Update/reinstall the audio drivers. If it's an OEM PC (ie: Dell, HP, etc.) you can get the drivers from the manufacturers website. Simply download and install.
     
  5. Dell-Kris

    Dell-Kris Dell Representative

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Hi mahaveersatra,
    My name is Krishna and I work for the Social Media and Community Team at Dell. Microsoft has created a detailed step-by-step troubleshooter for common audio problems. The troubleshooter detects the version of Windows your computer is running and adapts troubleshooting to match. You can run the troubleshooter from http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/help/no-sound-in-windows .Hope this helps.

    Regards,
    Dell-Kris K
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,682
    I see 2 other problems:

    Windows XP has not been upgraded to Service Pack 3 - which was released over 4 years ago.

    That computer has only 256 MB of RAM.

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    Right-click MY COMPUTER, then click Properties - Hardware - Device Manager.

    Are there any entries in the list that have a yellow ? or ! next to them?

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    I'm guessing at this point that your computer has Realtek AC'97 Audio.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. stump64

    stump64

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    how do i fix it
     
  8. stump64

    stump64

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    how do i fix problem
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,682
    You have NOT replied to the middle part of post #6.

    --------------------------------------------------------

    Is your computer an eMachines T3092 desktop or is it some other brand and model?

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. stump64

    stump64

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    its a hp pAVILLION
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,682
    What's the model number of that HP Pavilion?

    What's the product number(P/N) or model number(M/N) that's on the sticker?

    According to the specs that you submitted in post #2, I'm guessing that computer is at least 8 years old.

    --------------------------------------------------------

    You still have NOT replied to the middle part of post #6, so we don't know if your computer is having a hardware problem or driver problem with the sound.

    The longer it takes to pry information out of you, the longer it's going to take to help you.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. tom6049

    tom6049

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    775
    I agree.

    @stump64
    Go to http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/
    then select "AC'97 Audio Codecs" and try some drivers from there.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1060639