1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

autmatically detect setting does not work

Discussion in 'Networking' started by eric2670, Mar 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. eric2670

    eric2670 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    I'm running latest firefox, vista and windows 7. Wireless Laptop worked fine yesterday. Went to log on today and can't connect. Think I've found problem, but ran into another. under connections tab-LAN settings---automatically detect setting is unchecked. It allows me to check it, but when I click "ok" to set it nothing happens. Literally nothing. the box does not go away and the check mark stays. "ok" doesn't work at all. any ideas?

    thank you,

    eric
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Nope, that's not your problem. I never leave that checked.

    Do a system restore to before the problem occurred.
     
  3. eric2670

    eric2670 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    John,

    I did a system restore and it's still not detecting my wireless signal. I know it works because I'm streaming netflix through it. Any ideas?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.


    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com


    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. eric2670

    eric2670 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    John,

    I got to ipconfig/all, then when I went to type the ping I got this: unable to initialize windows sockets interface. general failure

    I tried to
    uninstall/re-install TCP/IP, but nothing. I not the greatest with computers, obviously.

    Any other thoughts? I'm running windows 7, not vista. I'm stumped.

    thanks,

    eric
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.





    See if you can do the ping tests after this.






    .
     
  7. eric2670

    eric2670 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    ran the steps from your last message. now I can connect via a cable. for the wireless it says connections are available, but still can't connect.
    I hope I did it correctly, here's what I got.

    thanks,

    eric

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : vicky-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : nycap.rr.com

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-4C-E5-FE-FE-DF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-D6-4E-C2-68
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nycap.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-E8-F3-D7-EC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a881:e29f:a17a:aa3e%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, March 13, 2010 9:13:24 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 14, 2010 9:13:24 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234890472
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-96-1F-25-00-24-E8-F3-D7-EC

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.nycap.rr.com:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{12DB8CD1-85A7-43D2-B175-0635A3EA8785}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:3c1e:2901:b5b9:75a5(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3c1e:2901:b5b9:75a5%15(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{458DE194-94DF-441B-89D6-A9E668FD7A54}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {BD53EC54-6E2F-4042-8BB0-EDD73BBE17F6}:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nycap.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 192.168.1.100

    Pinging 192.168.1.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 209.18.47.61

    Pinging 209.18.47.61 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.18.47.61: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=110
    Reply from 209.18.47.61: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=110
    Reply from 209.18.47.61: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=110
    Reply from 209.18.47.61: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=110

    Ping statistics for 209.18.47.61:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 18ms, Maximum = 32ms, Average = 22ms

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 209.18.47.62

    Pinging 209.18.47.62 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.18.47.62: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=110
    Reply from 209.18.47.62: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=110
    Reply from 209.18.47.62: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=110
    Reply from 209.18.47.62: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=110

    Ping statistics for 209.18.47.62:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 18ms, Maximum = 22ms, Average = 20ms

    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Remove all the stored wireless network profiles and search for the network and enter the correct encryption key.
     
  9. eric2670

    eric2670 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    thanks for the info. can you be more specific. I'm a computer dope, just barely getting by. any specific steps will help.

    thanks,

    eric
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Open Network and Sharing Center, and on the left side there is a Manage wireless networks, you can remove them there.
     
  11. eric2670

    eric2670 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    tried it, still can't connect via wireless. any more ideas? I don't know why this would happen. I didn't add any updates or change a thing. Very frustrating.

    thanks,

    eric
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    You have Windows 7, you can connect by ethernet, and you have deleted all wireless profiles, right?

    Exactly what happens when you tell it to connect to your wireless?

    Is your network secured? If so, with what kind of encryption?
     
  13. eric2670

    eric2670 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Long story short. I've tried everything under network and sharing. tried having it automatically resolve problems. It says my homegroup is not available. I've tried troubleshooting this as well, nothing. No problems when I connect via ethernet, it works fine. It's just the damn wireless.

    the only profile I have is my linksys. When I remove it nothing happens, still can't connect. currently it's removed and I'll leave it that way until I hear from you.

    thanks,

    eric

    Anyway I can manually type in my system id in windows 7 and will this work.
     
  14. eric2670

    eric2670 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    nothing happens when I try to connect via wireless. box on right hand side of task bar pops up saying not connected. picture of connections bars picture has yellow splotch in it, not a red x and it reads connections available to the right of it.
     
  15. eric2670

    eric2670 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    terry or John,

    I'm a computer dummy so don't be afraid to give me instructions as if I were a 4 yr. old.

    thanks,

    eric
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/909639