1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Auto complete problems

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by tonyolh, Apr 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tonyolh

    tonyolh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    I am unable to clear my autocomplete. I don't want to shut it off, I just want to clear it. I do it everyday and it works fine. I usually use Clearcache. Yesterday it kept stopping at the last step, which is IE,tools,content,clear autocomplete. When I go to manually do it now, it has an hourglass and I have to close because it is not responding. I do not have this problem when I log into administrator, but it won't let me clear it when I log in the regular mode.
    I ran an ewido and spyware, and came up with nothing.

    Any suggestions
     
  2. fleamailman

    fleamailman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    547
    Sorry, autocompleat of what program, there are many,
     
  3. tonyolh

    tonyolh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Internet Explorer
     
  4. fleamailman

    fleamailman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    547
    Ok, I think that is more likely just to some clog in the works I am giving you a general clean up program but if you are in hurry go to clean up step 5, but they will all help your comp.


    Time to use your "runbox" to clean your computer,
    (all these steps are done with the run box then)

    Run Box
    find and press the keys; the Windows flag botton and the R botton together(up pops the runbox)
    (all these steps can be simply done by typing commands in the run box then)

    Step1 deleting the prefetch files
    type, or cut/paste this to runbox: prefetch
    press: enter
    (the prefetch folder opens)
    press: Ctrl botton with the A botton(select all is the same)
    press: shift + delete botton(deletes with prompt)

    Step2 disc clean up
    type or cut/paste this to runbox: cleanmgr.exe
    choose drive(normally C: but comps differ)
    press: enter(this process can take a long time)

    Step3 disc defragmenter
    type or cut/paste this to runbox: dfrg.msc
    press enter(this process can take a long time)

    Step4 checkdisk
    type, or cut/paste this to runbox: chkdsk /f /r
    press: enter( black window appears)
    press: Y botton
    press: enter
    reboot the computer(this process is the longest, worse the screen may be lost before hours later the computer arrives at the welcome screen)

    Step5 download: clean up.
    cleanup
    http://www.stevengould.org/software/cleanup/ysspec.htm
    run: cleanup

    Step6 Start ups
    (Important!!! If you are now giving a hjt log to be seen by the malware removal teem here, do not do step6 yet)
    type, or cut/paste this to runbox: msconfig
    press: enter
    mousemove to: start ups
    keep; antivirus related and wanted entries
    google: unknown entries
    disable: ones you know are unneeded.



    Good, although this has taken you a long time, I think your computer will thank you for it.
     
  5. fleamailman

    fleamailman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    547
    OK, feedback good or bad is welcome, we will have more to do if this is not the answer
     
  6. tonyolh

    tonyolh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    will try now and reply
     
  7. tonyolh

    tonyolh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    When I type prefetch in the run box

    it says it can't find it, make sure filename is correct
     
  8. tonyolh

    tonyolh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    should I bypass that step and continue?
     
  9. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Yes, carry on and see if this actually does anything.

    There is no benefit to deleting Prefetch files.
     
  10. fleamailman

    fleamailman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    547
    works for me, I will give you the direct route file line then

    C:\WINDOWS\Prefetch

    The idea is just to delete all the entries in that folder which are preperations to programs that wildos creates and stores for future use, trouble is that their number build up and cause conflict and nothing is lost when you delete them because if window doesn't find one it just makes one for next time. Important you are deleting everrthing in the folder not the folder itself.
     
  11. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    "Preperations" - Is this a new Technical term?

    The number of files here do NOT build up and they do NOT cause conflicts. And, yes something IS lost. These files are not just built once, but rather fine tuned every time that particular program is executed. So, by deleting the files you are losing the fine tuning.
     
  12. tonyolh

    tonyolh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Still not working. I even did a search for any folders or files named prefetch. Nada. I don't know if I have one. I have never had this problem before today. Should I run a Hijack this log?

    Could I have too much on my harddrive?

    Thanks in Advance
     
  13. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Does the "AutoComplete Setttings" window open after you select the Autocompete button, or does it "hang" after you click the button?

    If the window DOES open, what options do you have selected? IE what are you trying to clear?

    BTW PreFetch is a hidden folder
     
  14. tonyolh

    tonyolh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    The window opens, but when I click the clear forms button it just sits there with an hourglass. Then when I go to close it it says there is an error/not responding
     
  15. tonyolh

    tonyolh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Do you guys think this is a virus or some kind of glitch?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/459402

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice