1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Auto-fill access fields?

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by SabreWolf3, Jul 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SabreWolf3

SabreWolf3 Thread Starter

I have a table in an Access database. This table has three columns in it, and I want to add a fourth column. I want the value of this fourth column to be "Primary" for every record.

What's the easiest way to accomplish this? I'm an Access newbie.

-- Richard

2. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

Open the Table and go to design view by clicking on the little green triangle in the top left corner. Click on the first available field opening under the column "Field Name" and add the new field name. Next, set the data type for the new field. Now right click the newly added field name and select "Primary Key."

Rollin

3. SabreWolf3

SabreWolf3 Thread Starter

No, I don't want the column to be the primary key, I want all the values for this column to be the word "Primary." I just don't know how to make Access autofill the column for me. In Excel, I could put the word "Primary" in cell D2 and copy it. Then I could scroll down to cell D20,000, hit End, Shift, Up Arrow and Paste, and it would fill cells D2 to D20,000 with the word "Primary"

Sorry for not making it clearer the first time.
    -- Richard

4. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again