1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Auto Fill-In ?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bobkatbf, Jun 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bobkatbf

    bobkatbf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    193
    How do I erase some items that pop-up when I am filling out a sweeps form etc?

    I have old zip codes I want to delete etc.
     
  2. bobkatbf

    bobkatbf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    193
    Am I asking this question in correct forum board?
     
  3. bobkatbf

    bobkatbf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    193
    How do I erase some items that pop-up when I am filling out a sweeps form etc?

    I have old zip codes I want to delete etc.
     
  4. mcse72

    mcse72

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    You'll need to go to Tools -> Internet Options in IE. Under the Content tab there is an AutoComplete botton. There you can delete those entries and uncheck what you don't want to have filled in automatically for you. I usually just leave web forms checked.
     
  5. bobkatbf

    bobkatbf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    193
    I mean when I am at a website & filling out a order form & a previously enterd city name comes.
    I want to delete that misspelled one.
    How do I do that ?
     
  6. mcse72

    mcse72

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    If I'm understaning you correctly, you can either delete those entries for filling in automatically as described above, by unchecking forms, usernames/passswords and also the clear forms/passwords botton in that same window. You can also delete all cookies, temporary internet files, history from IE in the General tab in Internet Options. Other than that, if you've already tried all these things and its still filling it in, I really don't know any other way that web forms can be cleared out.
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    55,541
    First Name:
    Derek
    re-opened at request
     
  8. Joanyoung

    Joanyoung

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,122
    You need to log in to your profile on the webpage, and edit your details in there.

    There must be an option somewhere on the page to do that

    joan
     
  9. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,110
    Hi bobkatbf

    If you highlight the entry and press the Delete button, does that not remove the entry?

    Did you try mcse72's suggestion? This is most likely occurring because of your system settings. If you were to access the same page using a different computer, those autocomplete entries would not be there.


    What browser are you using?
     
  10. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Do you have the Google Toolbar installed? This has a feature built-in to store field entries. Other such toolbars probably have a similar feature.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/370620

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice