1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

auto reboot after a power cut

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Reviews' started by quovadistamworth, Jul 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. quovadistamworth

quovadistamworth Thread Starter

Help......... Does anyone know of a piece of software I can install on my laptop and desk top that .........in event of a power cut both machines will auto re-start without anyone being present ? The problem is that I use both computers to view my security cameras when I am away ....at present I have lost communication and both say not on line so either the internet has failed or there has been a power cut and both machines are sitting there dead!!! any suggestions greatly aprreciated .........Nothing to complicated please I am not a programmer or anything like that ...but can follow reasonable detailed instructions ok using a computer ...Thanks again f

2. stantley

stantley

If the power outages are under 30 Min. or so, I'd consider getting a battery backup. That way if the power cuts out the battery takes over and your systems keep running.

3. ChuckE

ChuckE

It will almost HAVE to be in your computer's BIOS setup. See if there is a setting for power loss or power return on loss.

The reason it can't be a program on your computer, is that if your computer is already off, how can a program run to turn your computer on?