1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Auto unhide rows in excel

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by slsimmer, May 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. slsimmer

    slsimmer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Hello,
    I have an Excel file where I track repairs that are sent out to various repair centers. What I am having trouble with is this: Right now I have a formula that calculates the estimated delivery date based on the lead time and ship date. Works fine. But in the rows where there is no data, the formula still shows. And since there is no start date or lead time entered, I have a long column of 1/0/1900 becuse the formula does not see a start date or lead time. What I want to do is have this not show up until I enter the start date. I need this to work automatically, kind of like how Microsoft Projects works but not nearly as expensive. Any help would be appreciated!
    Thanks!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,749
    First Name:
    Wayne
    us if statement
    would you post the formula you have already
    just add
    something like
    IF
    startdate = ""
    then ""

    but would need to be added to I suspect an IF statement you already have

    =IF ( Startdate = "" , "" , now your formula added here )

    That will leave all the results as blank until you type in a startdate
    we can modify to an OR for start or lead - but need to make sure the rules - would you have a leadtime without a startdate anyway ?
     
  3. Ent

    Ent Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,465
    First Name:
    Josiah
    An alternative would be to use conditional formatting, setting the cell's text colour to white when it's 1/0/1900
     
  4. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    I would use the IF() statement in the formula. Sure, you can use conditional formatting, but if it is being used already it can start to interfere with other conditional formats...not worth it.
     
  5. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,531
    First Name:
    Hans
    I'd suggest an extra sheet where only the 1/0/1900 are shown and when you enter a date here the source sheet is updated?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/925577

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice