1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AutoCorrect MSWord 2010 - not working in some docs

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Tacit, Feb 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tacit

Tacit Thread Starter

I have been using MS Word 2010 "Home and Student" for 1 year.
    I used MS Word 2003 before that, since 2004.
    I have been using MS Word since about 1997.
    I have been using computer word processors since 1978.

PROBLEM
    Sometimes, with no immediate cause that I can identify,
    in some documents (here let us say, "NoDoc.docx" "NoDoc.docm"),
    my defined speedtype items created by me in AutoCorrect
    (e.g. hcc > healthcare, or, pmm > project manager)
    fail to expand.

Scenario A.
    Usually, I can fix this problem in NoDoc.docx as follows:
    1. save all open fiels and close Word
    2. open Word
    3. open/create a new document (e.g. Doc1.docx)
    4. invoke one of my speedtypes in Doc1.docx by typing, e.g. "hcc" +spacebar
    5. observe that "hcc" expands properly to "healthcare"
    6. re-open the problem document, NoDoc.docx
    7. invoke/test/confirm that AutoCorrect now expands my speed types as defined in NoDoc.docx.
    8. save and close Doc1.docx
    9. use NoDoc.docx as usual with AutoCorrect functioning properly.
    *The same problem may re-appear in NoDoc.docx and be corrected days or weeks or months later.

Scenario B.
    At other times, for particular documents, (e.g. NeverDoc.docx)
    the above Scenario A method does not fix the problem.
    * Correcting MS-loaded items (e.g. "teh" > "the"), AutoCorrect functions properly
    * My defined items do not appear in the AutoCorrect list, if viewed in NeverDoc.docx
    * In other simultaneously open documents (Other.docx), AutoCorrect properly expands my defined items