1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Autologon in WIN2K

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bhavesh_s, Dec 28, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bhavesh_s

    bhavesh_s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Hi
    I am trying to setup autologon in win2000 prof. .It works when i restart the box every time but it DOESN'T work if i logoff.What could be the problem?
    I did the following :
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\Current Version\Winlogon
    Double click the DefaultDomainName and filled in my domain name
    Double click the DefaultUserName and filled in my login name
    From Edit menu selected New String Value, and enter DefaultPassword as name of value
    Double click the DefaultPassword and enter in my password
    From Edit menu selected New String Value, and enter AutoAdminLogon as name of value
    Double click the AutoAdminLogon and set the value to the number 1
    Please help
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. RubySlippers

    RubySlippers

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    18
  3. bhavesh_s

    bhavesh_s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Ruby
    I tried the same procedure as given in the Microsoft knowledge base but it doesn't work when logging off well it works fine when when we restart
     
  4. RubySlippers

    RubySlippers

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    I'm not sure what you're tying to do is possible. In my experience, if you click on Log Off, that triggers the log on prompt regardless of whether or not you enabled autologon. Autologon only applies to restarting or booting.
     
  5. RubySlippers

    RubySlippers

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    18
  6. bhavesh_s

    bhavesh_s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    9
  7. bhavesh_s

    bhavesh_s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Ruby
    I have setup the autologoon on five of WIndows NT servers with the same procedure and it works great.
     
  8. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    There is an additional setting for Windows 2000 that you will need to add that is not used for NT. I had this one drive me crazy when we started adding in 2000 pro machines.

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsNT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon

    Value: ForceAutoLogon
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: 1
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63294

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice