1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Automatic Computer Lock Time.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by xaverianite, Jan 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xaverianite

    xaverianite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Hello,

    I am running genuine Windows XP, SP3.
    My OS gets frequently locked, within 1 minutes of having no activity(mouse or keyboard).

    I have checked the Sceensaver timer, but it is of no help.

    I want to increase the computer lock timer as per my preference, but do not find this option anywehere.

    Is there any registry setting or so, or if it has anything to do with group policy or anything.

    I just keep unlocking my PC after no activity for 1 minute, makes it really difficult for me to read any article or e-book.

    Please help.

    Thank You,
    Saurabh.
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    Take a look in Control Panel>Power Options to see if Standby is set to cut in that soon - if it is change all the settings to Never, assuming you have a PC permanently on an electricity supply.
     
  3. xaverianite

    xaverianite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the reply.

    I have tried all that earlier, the questions is my system doesn't go to sleep hibernate or anything because I have set that time to never.

    That is the reason I could not find where to twak to get rid of this issue, this is probably some kind of virus or something if anyone is aware about?
     
  4. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    There is malware around that logs you out - download MalwareBytes from http://www.malwarebytes.com and install it. Let it update to the latest version and threats then run the Quick Scan. Let it fix anything it finds then restart the computer. Run the Full Scan and do the same then after that restart, go back in and click the Logs tab. Post both the logs back so we can see what it got rid of and perhaps guess at what it didn't.
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,058
    Do you have XP Pro or Home?
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,058
    If you have XP Pro,

    Click on Start > Run > type gpedit.msc

    See if the settings have been modified under the following:

    User Configuration\ Administrative Templates\ Control Panel\ Display\ Screen Saver timeout

    User Configuration\ Administrative Templates\ Control Panel\ Display\ Password protect the screen saver
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,058
    You can also disable the Lock Workstation function using the registry.

    Click on Start > Run > type regedit

    Go to:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System

    In the right-hand pane, create a new DWORD value named DisableLockWorkstation and give it one of these values:

    1 – Disable Lock Workstation
    0 – Enable Lock Workstation

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,058
    To change the screensaver timeout, click on Start > Run > type regedit

    Go to:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Control Panel\Desktop

    In the right-hand pane, change the value ScreenSaveTimeOut

    The value will be in seconds.
     
  9. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    My money is on this perishing nuisance, Internet Security 2010 - I've got one on the bench at the moment. If the OP right clicks the Taskbar and Task manager is greyed, that's the first sign. The thing even runs in Safe Mode although it doesn't log the Administrator out so there's a fighting chance of getting rid of it.

     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,058
    The OP seems to have enabled and configured a lock time for himself. So, we might not be dealing with malware at all.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/896375