1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Automatic Email From Excel When Due Date Is Approaching

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by bhrynyk, Aug 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bhrynyk

bhrynyk Thread Starter

Hello,

This is my first post here. I have been searching all over the internet trying to find an answer to my excel problem. I am pretty new to excel and my goal is to have excel automatically send an email out to me when the due date of a training is approaching. I have already set it up using conditional formatting to fill the due date box yellow if a due date is less than 30 days away but I would like excel to email me a reminder so I don't have to remember to check the spreadsheet every month.

I have it set up with a training summary sheet that shows the # of trainings due within 30 days so what I really need is a macro to send if the cell is greater than 0.

I have done a lot of searching but am new to excel programming and can not figure out how to adapt the codes I have seen to satisfy my needs. Or where to enter them

I attached the workbook I am trying to do this for. Im looking to apply the macro to the 'Training Summary' sheet.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Brandon

Attached Files:

2. CDHarm

CDHarm

Hi,

In order to do this we need more information.
    Will the workbook be opened every day?
    If so you can set the code to check the date and E-Mail you.
    If the workbook will not be opened every day then you can use the "Task" manager
    and have it open the workbook to check the date.
    You can also set a code than when the workbook is opened it will check the
    Date and if you need to review it will activate the sheet and then Highlight the Date.

3. bhrynyk