1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Automatic System Restart"

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mzpro5, Apr 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mzpro5

    mzpro5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Hoping someone can assist me in getting my Mother's laptop back in shape. She recently returned from a winter in FL and has the following problem. When she is connected via Eartnlink dialup either for email or Web browsing she eventually gets the following message:

    "Windows must now restart because Remote Call Procedure (RPC) service terminated unexpectedly"

    Then a mintue countdown starts, giving time to close programs, and the computer is shutdown and restarted.

    About 50% of the time this is preceeded by a Norton virus detection message for either the "Worm 32 Blaster virus" or the "Welchia virus". I have updated all her virus program and run a scan and no viruses are detected, I also ran the Norton downloaded and ran the Norton fixes for these viruses but again they were not detected. The virus detection message refers to either the file "Windows\System32\config\System profile\Wks. Patch [1].exe" or a Temp file under System 32. I cannot find this file.

    This only occurs when online. Any thoughts so that I can get my 75 year old mother back on the net?
     
  2. rude

    rude

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
    First thing you need to do is go to Windows Update and download ALL updates and service packs.

    Then go here:
    http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

    Run the scan,if your machine is still shutting down,do this:
    Go to control panel/admin options/services and scroll down to Remote Procedure Call (not Remote Procedure Call Locator) right click and select "properties" click on "recovery" tab.You will see three failure options,change them all from "Restart Computer" to"Do Nothing".This will fix the restart problem,and give you time to fix the virus problem.
     
  3. mzpro5

    mzpro5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    rude

    Thanks for the advice. followed your instructions and things seem to be working fine for my Mom. thanks again.
     
  4. rude

    rude

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
    You might want to think about getting a good firewall and a good antivirus program.
    There are quite a few good programs available but none of them can get everything all of the time.The key to using these programs is in keeping them up to date.
    I use AdAware on a regular basis and I check for updates before every use.You can get a free copy here:
    http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/

    I also use AVG 7,and there is a free version here: http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_dwnl_free.php

    Spybot Search & Destroy is another free program that does a good job and can be found here:http://www.safer-networking.org/index.php?page=download

    Another thing you can do is an online system scan from here: http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

    Also a good firewall is an absolute necessity,I use ZoneAlarm pro and a free version can be found here: http://www.uant.net/firewall/zonealarmguide.html

    Keep in mind that you need to update any program on a regular basis to get the latest virus definitions,as there are more virii,trojans,worms ect. produced every day.
     
  5. mzpro5

    mzpro5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    rude

    Thanks for the links. My Mother has Norton Antivirus but unfortunately she is not good on doing the updates, but now that she is back in my area I will make sure she updates at least once a week.

    I run both a desktop and laptop from my home for work and update everything at least twice a week so I don't have the problems she experienced also I have a router that acts as a firewall.

    Because she uses a dial up account things go really slow so to run the fixes yuo suggested on your first post I brought her laptop to my place hooked it up to the BB and downloaded all updates from MS and Norton. Plus I added Spybot and Zone Alarm at that time. It is basically a process of getting Mom to run the updates. I set the Norton up to auto update and scan on a particular day and time and asked her to make sure she is on line at that time.

    Again I appreciate your suggestions. Her system is still running fine and I don't foresee further problems.
     
  6. lovsk8in247

    lovsk8in247

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    390
    if you don't like updating it every week or so all you have to do is turn on automatic update and it updates it every week or so without you having to do anything
     
  7. mzpro5

    mzpro5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Thanks, I've done that but Mom doesn't follow a regular "use schedule" or at times is not on line very long so especially with the dialup I still have to manually make sure things are updated.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/221283

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice