1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Automatically detect settings...

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by gbrandwood, Aug 16, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gbrandwood

    gbrandwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    137
    Dear all

    How is it that one can configure a server so that the "Automatically detect settings" tick box in IE v5+ works - thus configuring the browser.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Regards

    Gareth
     
  2. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    You can use Microsoft's IEAK software. It's free and allows for customized installs of IE for businesses, ISPs or anyone else that may want to do it.

    You can download it <a href=http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ieak/en/default.asp> here</a>.

    Let us know what happens.
     
  3. gbrandwood

    gbrandwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    137
    Thanks for responding.

    I use IEAK 5.5 and that does allow me to present proxy settings and what not.

    However, if IE5 could be configured to look for a file on a server or somewhere central, that contained these settings, every time we updated the central copy, everyone using IE5 would automatically use the latest script.

    Pre-setting options via IEAK would mean that when we needed to change a config, we have re-run IEAK (or tweak the relevant build) and get users to run IE5Setup again.

    It would be an acceptable compromise to use IEAK to hard code the path of some kind of script, and then we would update the script, not IEAK. Any thoughts on how I'd do this?

    There are several thousand users here so the less they have to do the better!

    Regards

    Gareth
     
  4. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    You can create a .pac(Proxy Auto Config) file using Java Script to autoconfig the browser connection. It can be stored locally or on a server. Is that what you want to do?

    Here are two examples that I was able to find pretty quickly. If you search for "Creating a .pac file" you'll find plenty of hits.

    <a href=http://www.lgca.org/Techsupport/District/autoconfigproxy.htm>Example 1 <a/>

    <a href=http://developer.netscape.com/docs/manuals/proxy/adminux/autoconf.htm> Example 2</a>

    I hope that's what you were looking for, let us know what happens.


    [Edited by Bryan on 08-17-2001 at 06:37 AM]
     
  5. gbrandwood

    gbrandwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    137
    Bryan

    That's great! The pac file should do exactly what I want.

    Wonderful.

    Regards

    Gareth
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/50909

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice