1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Automating the mount c d:\folder command

Discussion in 'Games' started by fredagnir, Dec 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fredagnir

fredagnir Thread Starter

I am new in DOSbox. I don't run games. I have a flatfile database that runs on DOS. Can someone tell me whether I can automate the mount c: d:\folder command?

2. wiley8425

wiley8425

Yes. You can. Go into your dosbox folder and edit the dosbox.conf file. At the end should be an [autoexec] section in the file. Add your "mount c d:\folder" command under the [autoexec] heading along with any other commands you'd like to execute when dosbox starts. If that heading isn't in the file, you can just add it to the end of the file. When done, it should look like:

3. fredagnir

fredagnir Thread Starter

How do I find the dosbox folder and dosbox.conf file? I am running Windows 7 Professional and I don't see it among the Program Files. Does it make a difference what OS I use?

4. fredagnir

fredagnir Thread Starter

I found it and made the changes in the autoexec section. thanks

5. fredagnir

fredagnir Thread Starter

Hi Wiley,

I have forgotten how to write a menu. I see that you have a menu line in the autoexec section. Can you refresh me? Thanks.

6. wiley8425

wiley8425

It's not a menu. It's a command to run a batch file called 'menu' after it finishes everything else.

7. fredagnir

fredagnir Thread Starter