1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AutoPlay wont run on its own

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bakry, Jan 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bakry

    bakry Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Hi,

    Lately, i've realized that everytime i put in an application cd/dvd into my drive, it wont autorun on its on. [ie: when i put in a game cd/dvd, the usual "play game, uninstall, update. etc" window will not pop up on its own].

    I have to manually right click on the dvd drive in my computer and click AutoPlay for it to happen. Its a bit of a hassle even tho its a small problem. As for movies, it doesnt work automatically too. Before this, it would automatically run QuickPlay for movies. Now i would have to manually click Quickplay

    I've checked the other solutions in this forum, such as checking the rededit, services.msc and i have tried using the autoplay repair wizard from microsoft. But my cd/dvds till wont autorun.

    Please Help.

    Thank you
     
  2. 1069

    1069

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,912
    Hi,

    Does this help?
     
  3. bakry

    bakry Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Sorry but i am the only one using this laptop, hence i am an admin user.

    Thanks for the reply anyway :(
     
  4. 1069

    1069

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,912
    Try

    My Computer > Right click on the CDROM Drive > Properties > Autoplay

    You should be able to configure it here.
     
  5. bakry

    bakry Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    done that :( it still wont run automatically when i put it in.
     
  6. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
  7. bakry

    bakry Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    hi, like i said in my first post... i already tried that too :(
     
  8. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Yes I see at closer inspection

    Seems like you have tried most things

    Have you tried Check Disk

    Try this click Start>>Run type cmd click Ok.

    In the Command Prompt type chkdsk /r click Enter

    You will be asked if you want a check disk to run on next startup click Y and then press Enter

    Restart your PC
     
  9. 1069

    1069

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,912
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537876

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice