1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Autoselect OS on boot.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by nashsaint, Jul 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nashsaint

    nashsaint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Hi,

    My pc has 2 OS installed that it prompt me to choose which one to use upon boot (a countdown of 30 seconds and will select the topmost OS on the list if no keys are pressed). I want to autoselect one OS and avoid the countdown.. How may i do that?

    any help is much appreciated.

    thanks.
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,371
    You need to be more clear on what you want.

    Do you want to just boot into one os and remove the other one?

    Do you still want an option to boot into both os?

    Do both os in fact work?

    List what os you have installed on the system.
     
  3. nashsaint

    nashsaint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Hi,

    I only install one OS but it shows me two options on boot:

    Windows XP Pro
    Windows XP Pro

    the first option works, the next doesn't.. and i just want my PC to autoselect the first option. thanks.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,371
    You need to edit your boot.ini file and remove the line that references the non-working os. This can be done in a txt editor like notepad or you can do it from within xp via the control panel>system>advanced.

    If you paste the boot.ini file here, someone can show you what line to remove. Note this is a hidden, read only file on the root of your boot or system drive. You will need to have windows show protected os files in order to view this file.
     
  5. nashsaint

    nashsaint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    here's my boot.ini

     
  6. mcse72

    mcse72

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    All you need to do is to right-clcik "My Computer" choose properites and clcik on the Advanced tab. From there click on "settings" from the Srartup and Recovery section. In the "Time to display OS" change it from 30 to 0.
     
  7. nashsaint

    nashsaint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks a lot mcse72 and crjdriver....
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,371
    Remove this line

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect

    Save the file and restart. You will not have the menu.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/485850

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice