autostart not working

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

shelley

I've had this problem for a while now so I can't put my finger on exactly when it happened.

I have a Super Writemaster DCD-RAM drive (driver up to date). Neither cd's or dvd's start automatically.

I've followed instructions from Microsoft Support - http://support.microsoft.com/kb/330135 - no change.

I've downloaded and run AutoFix.exe (see mail - http://forums.techguy.org/windows-xp/665926-autostart-not-working-anymore.html). I get the message - "this type of drive does not support AutoPlay settings"! So, no joy there.

Any advice which may fix this would be much appreciated.

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Can you still run or open applications from CDs manually without AutoPlay?

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Have you tried Tweak UI?

Click Powertoys for Windows XP > Tweak UI.

Expand My Computer.

Expand AutoPlay.

Click Drives.

Tick the letter for your CD/DVD ROM.

Click Types.

Tick Enable AutoPlay for CD and DVD drives.

Click OK.

shelley

Hi, Phantom010,

I looked into Tweak UI, as you suggested. The drive was not ticked. I corrected that but it hasn't made any difference. I can play cd's but they do not autostart.

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
What about Types > Enable AutoPlay for CD and DVD drives?

shelley

Hi again,

All the Content Types have an action associated with them. None have 'Take no action'.

I don't know if this makes a difference but the drive is designated 'DVD-RAM Drive'.