Avant Browser?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

joe2cool

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Messages
5,994
http://www.avantbrowser.com/index.html .......Avant Browser, it site states an upgrade for your Internet Explorer. Avant Browser is a fast, stable, user-friendly, versatile multi-window browser.

Avant Browser is a freeware. You can use it for free, no registration is required.

Just wondered if anyone had tried it ? Any opinions ?

;)

:cool:
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
Main problem is it installs UCMore which both adaware and spybot find and describe as spyware
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Messages
0
I dont think thats true about the spywear. I have Ad-Aware, which is a great tool by the way at removing spywear (like Ezula and Gator), and I searched my computer for spywear. It did not detect any. I read everything when I was installing the program and it said nothing about spywear. If they don't list in, I really don't think its legal for them to install it. But I really doubt that it is integrated into Avant. Perhaps you got the spywear elsewhere....
-Matt
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
Is UCmore a part of Avant Browser? Is UCmore packaged into Avant Browser installer?

NO, UCmore is not a part of Avant Browser. It is developed and owned by Effective-i, Inc.. UCmore is just a browser plug-in that Avant Browser support. It is not packaged into Avant Browser installer. The installer of Avant Browser only contains all Avant Browser related files, no third party files packaged. To install UCmore, you need to download its installer by yourself.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2001
Messages
123
UCmore will install only if you ask for it to be installed.

Avant is a good choice if you like IE. Better yet is Crazy Browser.

Crazy Browser has all the goodies of Avant PLUS a display of security zones [important if you want to surf safely with an IE-based browser] & a more efficient pop-up stopper. Also Crazy seems a bit faster than Avant -- at least it does to me.

Another good IE enhancer is MyIE2
-- it's got LOTS of bells & whistles & is very fast, also.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
8,812
I always use k-meleon, It's simular to Galleon, Faster than Pheonix, and not a bit of extra crude, plus it's skinnable and most plugins are supported, and it's open-source. I truly believe the best things in life are open sourced.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2002
Messages
10
Im using avant right now, i like it alot because when i do comparison shopping it makes skipping through multiple windows eaiser. I like it, but, when you first load it it has alot of stuff on the tool bars, but you can easily trurn them off, after that, it loks nice and neat.
 

joe2cool

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Messages
5,994
;)

<img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=761557">

Hi ! I've been using it a couple of mths now & rather pleased at the moment ! ;)

:cool:

Oh ! how do you make avant your default, if you decide to do so later ? :)

:cool:
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
J2C-theres probably something in its options, or
My Computer>>View>>Folder Options>>File Types
Change HTTP and URL to point to Avant.
 
Joined
May 4, 2003
Messages
0
I have used Avant Browser for the past 4 months. I have enjoyed it immensely.

However, I am in the process of leaving it behind.

I was having problems with resident routines in memory. One of the programs that stays in memory long after using the program is ABROWSER.EXE

Whether it is spyware or just shoddy programming, I'm not going to take the chance. Many a time, when I shut the computer down, it would give me a countdown before shutting down this program. It has happened on my two desktops and my laptop.

Anyone else have this same problem?

by the way UCMORE is NOT installed.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top