1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Avast AV taking too long to start

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jimflint1, Dec 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jimflint1

    jimflint1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    So I've had Avast AV free edition for years, and in the past it has pretty much initiated at bootup...no more than five minutes from the time I start my computer until the AV is up and running. That is until just a week or so ago. Since that time, it has been taking 20-30 minutes before it is fully up and running.

    Any ideas as to what could be happening?
     
  2. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,822
    I would have been concerned when it took 5 minutes...

    Have you tried reinstalling the program? If no joy there, I suggest you uninstall Avast using their uninstall utility. It a free download here. Then you can do a clean install of the program. That may or may not fix the problem.

    Having said that, I recommend you get rid of Avast (using the downloaded utility), then download MS Security Essentials. I'm no great fan of most anything Microsoft, but MSE is a pretty good program. Small footprint, updates daily (or how you set it) scans for virus and malware (again however you set it). Give it a look.

    Raybro
     
  3. jimflint1

    jimflint1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Okay, I'll give that a try. I think I have another clue as to what may be happening though. With Avast, after the virus definitions have been updated (which happens every time I turn on the computer), a pop up window appears confirming the update, and a voice is heard saying "Virus database has been updated". This stage is taking 5-6 times longer than it did before, so I think it has something to do with downloading the virus definitions. Why that would be taking so much longer is the mystery.
     
  4. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,822
    I haven't used Avast for a few years, but I believe you can either disable auto update or change how often it updates. As a troubleshooting measure, you might do one of those, reboot and see what effect it has.

    Raybro
     
  5. jimflint1

    jimflint1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    I'll see if I can disable the update and then see what happens. Thanks.
     
  6. jimflint1

    jimflint1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    I couldn't find out how to disable the update, so I uninstalled the program then reinstalled it and it's still not working. It seems to be worse now, and instead of a yellow exclamation point in the Avast icon, I have a red circle with a white X in the icon. When I open the program and try to start the protection services, it says that they need to be started in order to protect my system, but clicking on the "fix" button, or any other button in the program does nothing. I tried to download the MS Security Essentials but that too didn't work. I'm going to make another attempt right now.
     
  7. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
  8. jimflint1

    jimflint1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    I got the MS Security Essentials up and running--and I found the uninstall utility at the Alwil website for removing Avast, so as soon as the MS finishes its scan, I'll go into safe mode and finish removing Avast.
     
  9. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
    i think you will like MSE. i had used AVG for years till they brought out the new 2011 ,which didn't like my comodo free firewall.
     
  10. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,822
    I, too, use the MSE, Comodo set up. They play well together.

    Raybro
     
  11. jimflint1

    jimflint1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    My Comodo stopped working a few months ago after an update and I went with Zone Alarms.

    So today I finally got rid of the Avast and have the MSE going, but I've been experiencing some crashing. I'm thinking the most recent one was because of the Microsoft updates reboot--but then again, in the middle of rebooting, I'm getting either the blue screen of death, or the black screen that says "boot failure, insert system disk". I've just been restarting and eventually get up and running, but that wasn't happening before, so maybe there are other issues like a conflict or something....
     
  12. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,822
    Sounds to me like you have more going on than a simple software program problem.

    I suggest you download HiJackThis (click the name), install it to its default location. Open the program and click the "Do a system Scan and save a log File" button. The log file will save on Notepad. Copy the entire log file content and paste it into a post here in this thread. It may take a while to get a response about the results as there are only a few TSG members authorized to analyze HJT log files.

    DO NOT FIX ANYTHING UNTIL YOU GET A RESPONSE !!!!

    Raybro
     
  13. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
    i agree with raybo ,you have more problems then we knew of.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/967526