1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Avast vs malware bytes?

Discussion in 'General Security' started by Appleking, Feb 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Appleking

    Appleking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I'm trying to decide on a better anti virus. I currently have avast installed and running. However, today from different sources I've been told that malware bytes does the job the best. Is malware bytes better...or something I should use ontop of avast. Both are the free versions
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,055
    Both cannot be compared. Avast is an antivirus, Malwarebytes' Anti-malware is not. It's an anti-spyware program. You can have both on your computer though.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,592
  4. spynoodle

    spynoodle

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    That's my combo. On my Windows 8 machines, I'm attempting (probably insecurely) to use Windows Defender for real-time protection, and simply run a Malwarebytes or SuperAntiSpyware scan every once and a while. On my XP machines, I use Avast for my real-time antivirus.
     
  5. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,210
    Both Avast and MalwareBytes Free edition can be used at the same time. They each cover different kinds of attacks.
     
  6. Byteman

    Byteman Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,725
    Malwarebytes Free edition does not conflict with antivirus. Avast is your a/v and has the real-time protection you need.

    The pay-for version of Malwarebytes has real-time protection and could cause some conflicts due to antivirus or poor performance so it is not advised to use two real-time protective programs

    MBAM free edition is a scan and remove tool, the premium version is for both scan and remove and protection of computer.
     
  7. Larusso

    Larusso Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    808
    MBAM Pro + an Anti Virus can cause conflicts, but in most cases not.
    Only one known issue is if you have MSE and MBAM Pro ( I have this and no problems )

    MBAM will never replace an Anti Virus, because,
    it wont look in .zip files or simliar.
    it cant remove an malicious code from a file
    .....

    Both ( MBAM and AVP ) database types are different and don't look for the same things, there are common detections, but the common part is not really substantial.
     
  8. Byteman

    Byteman Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,725
    I think it is time we started posting the full disclosure when advising for people to use Malwarebytes Pro along with their regular Security apps/Suites.


    there ARE security programs that need the user to make special settings changes to allow a smooth operation alongside MBAM Pro. In NO way am I slamming nor do I have any personal issue with MBAM, I use it religiously, both here and at home..... and have for as long as we have here at TSG. These "conflicts" are easily fixed and Malwarebytes has a guide for doing so.


    There are several posts about the needed exclusions found right in the Malwarebytes Forums

    http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=105540

    There are quite a few more. MBAM Pro is a definite good app, ---- I have NO agenda here, but I feel it is high time that we start advising users of the right things to LOOK OUT FOR and how to arrive at a positive result with using MBAM PRO.

    Anyone using a full featured real time protective antivirus or security suite is well advised to check

    HERE

    for some guides. The FAQ there started back in 2009, so a lot of that older stuff is probably not relevant now. I did read taht the newer Updates and of course, the newest version of MBAM Pro have settled a lot of any "conflicts" between other security programs and MBAM.

    Anyone having any questions about using Malwarebytes (PRO or Free edition) will get excellent help at their Forum!

    I think our advice about MBAM Pro should include a helpful link with a line about "Settings may be needed within your security program- please check at MalwareByte's Forums etc" just as a help.
     
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,055
    I'm running MBAM Pro myself and setting up exclusions in my NOD32 antivirus has never been enough. Once in a while, at Windows Startup, the computer would freeze, or the MBAM Service would just stop.

    The ultimate solution was to add a MBAM Startup Delay in the registry in the following key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware

    DWORD Value delayguistart

    Decimal value of 60

    If that's not enough, you can increase the number.
     
  10. Byteman

    Byteman Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,725
    Hey, that's really cool!
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1040429