1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AVG message saying to reboot every 10 minutes

Discussion in 'General Security' started by daniels012, Jul 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Does anyone know why I would be getting an AVG message every 10 to 20 minutes?
    My AVG Icon in the system tray has an exclamation point. When I click the Icon it says:
    Update requires computer restart, do you really want to restart?
    So I restart...
    It then gives the message after the restart every 10 to 20 minutes.

    Any ideas or updates anyone knows about for this issue?

    Michael
     
  2. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    I had a pc with this yesterday . . I uninstalled AVG and reinstalled it and the problem went away
     
  3. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    After googling the issue I did what you said.

    No luck, I still does it?
    Any ideas?

    Michael
     
  4. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    You uninstalled AVG . . Restarted and installed the newest version??? . . I'm out of ideas
     
  5. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Yes, that is what I did! I know, I feel the same way...
    Anytime I have done this in the past with other programs, it seemed to work???

    Michael
     
  6. tomdkat

    tomdkat Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,141
    Sounds like the update process was having an issue it couldn't recover from and always wanted to have the system rebooted to complete the update process. Uninstalling and re-installing would theoretically fix this by clearing whatever error or issue that confused AVG, in the first place.

    Peace...
     
  7. svenliden

    svenliden

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    daniels012, did you find a fix for this?
    I just started having this exact problem yesterday.
    Did anyone find a solution for it?
     
  8. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    No, No luck so far!

    Michael
     
  9. vicks

    vicks

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,124
    I find that the AVG 8.0 automatically updates when I boot up/go on line (dsl). So my guess that keeps coming up because it has updated and it needs to be rebooted. Sometimes when our security programs update it makes a reboot necessary.
    vicks
     
  10. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Oh no doubt! I understand that, why should I have to reboot every 10 minutes. I did it 4 times in a row just to see if it would stop....
    Still does it!
    Michael
     
  11. tomdkat

    tomdkat Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,141
    daniels012, how long has AVG 8 been behaving like this for you?

    Peace...
     
  12. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    about a week
     
  13. tomdkat

    tomdkat Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,141
    I don't have access to AVG 8 right now but I would see if you can locate some kind of AVG error or message log, possibly in the update manager. If AVG is having problems updating itself, it might be logging what the problem is. When I get access to a machine with AVG 8, I'll see if I can locate such a log and I'll report back here.

    Peace...
     
  14. mtzlplex

    mtzlplex

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,650
    Sorry I don`t have an answer to your specific avg problem, but I can tell you what I did about avg 8. Been an avg user for 8 years, with no problems, but after seeing all the various ranges of avg problems users are having not only on this forum, but others, I removed avg 7.5, and installed Avira free. I have had it for about a month now with no problems. It does have one slightly annoying popup when you go to update, but all you have to do is X out of that window, one click does it. I can put up with that very easily compared to all the problems that avg 8 users are having. As far as avg goes, was a great antivirus program, but just like anything else when someone gets it right, someone else has to try to improve.
     
  15. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    I would love to find a solution for this one. AVG has always been a very good product.

    Michael
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/729179