AVG Update 3/31/04

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ladyjeweler

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2002
Messages
1,047
Update AVG 7.0 - AVI 262.6.5 and AVG 6.0 - 648
Added detection of new variants of I-Worm/Netsky.S.
- March 31, 2004 -

I saw on another board that there are problems with AVG again. This is what I got when I tried to update.

 

ladyjeweler

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2002
Messages
1,047
The download was almost complete when I got...



If they are trying to tell us something I wish they would come out with it!
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2000
Messages
637
I too, among every one I know using AVG Free edition have been experiencing problems downloading the updates. I am a dial-up user and it constantly is telling me I need to open my browser manually and it is already open. In the last month I have been lucky to get the download on first try maybe 1 time. I am also having the same problems today March 31 mentioned above.
Someone sent me this information to try. They said they researched the problem and this was the solution. I did not try it until today, (and I still couldn't update.) so maybe todays problems are of a different nature.
They suggested to open the url.ini file found in the Grisoft folder, in note pad. Delete what is there and put

[SERVER_NAME]
1=free.grisoft.cz
2=ftp.grisoft.com
3=www.grisoft.com

[SERVER_URL]
1=http://free.grisoft.cz/softw/60/fe
2=ftp.grisoft.com/pub/softw/60/fe/
3=http://www.grisoft.com/softw/60/fe/
Actual URL=3

in its place and save it. I did this but everytime I try to access for an update it changes the number 3 back to a 1., Being you can not contact Grisoft unless you are using a pay version I guess they are wanting to make us all pay.
Will keep watching this site to see if anyone finds out the solution to this problem.
 

GoJoAGoGo

Joe
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
42,057
Originally posted by 4dsmom:
.
They suggested to open the url.ini file found in the Grisoft folder, in note pad. Delete what is there and put

[SERVER_NAME]
1=free.grisoft.cz
2=ftp.grisoft.com
3=www.grisoft.com

[SERVER_URL]
1=http://free.grisoft.cz/softw/60/fe
2=ftp.grisoft.com/pub/softw/60/fe/
3=http://www.grisoft.com/softw/60/fe/
Actual URL=3

in its place and save it. I did this but everytime I try to access for an update it changes the number 3 back to a 1., Being you can not contact Grisoft unless you are using a pay version I guess they are wanting to make us all pay.
Will keep watching this site to see if anyone finds out the solution to this problem.
4dsmom:

When I added the above file I was instructed to rename the original file to to URL.INIOLD and create the new one and name it URL.INI. I did it this way and the Actual URL=3 always stays that way.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2000
Messages
637
Ok will try that. As of now I still cannot get update.
thanks


went back and did that and retried again to download and it went through. Maybe a coincidence, maybe not but it did work. Thanks again
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Messages
5,994
Hi managed to receive the update at last ! must be a morning thing with us Brits at the moment !
 
Joined
May 16, 2003
Messages
4,092
Took most of today get an update in this neck of the woods as well joe. I thought it must have been a slow pigeon
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top