1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

back button doesn't work

Discussion in 'Site Help & Feedback' started by wowzer, Aug 20, 2012.

Advertisement
  1. wowzer

    wowzer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
    Hi

    I use IE8 and as of this post am on server 6. Please don't tell me to use another browzer...:rolleyes:

    Once I leave the main page, of this forum, and click on an individual section/forum the back button doesn't revert back, it only refreshes the flash add at the top right. If I click the dropdown arrow to the right of the back and forward buttons and select the main page it works fine.

    This is the only site this happens on.
     
  2. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,574
    Use another browser. :D

    I'm posting this using IE8 and cannot reproduce the problem. The back button works fine for me and I'm on server 6 as well.

    Have you tried logging out and clearing cookies?
     
  3. ckphilli

    ckphilli

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4,384
    I can't recreate the browzer (IE8) problem either, Wowzer.

    May try having a look at your add-ons in addition to Cookie's advice.
     
  4. wowzer

    wowzer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
    I have logged out and cleared the cache completely. This happens logged in or not. No doubt something on my end but very puzzleing. What puzzles me as much as anything is that this is the only site this this happens with..? I have just downloaded Opera and am trying to sort my way thru that. This was posted from Opera and as you can see I haven't even figger out how to increase the font size yet... :)
     
  5. ckphilli

    ckphilli

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4,384
    Did you check out your enabled/disabled add-ons?

    You can also reset ie settings. May be worth a shot.
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,048
    Could this be caused by the forum counter? I remember having a similar problem a while back. Had to add that counter to my Restricted Sites in IE.
     
  7. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,574
    Do you mean scorecardresearch.com? :)
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,048
    Yup, exactly that one! :)
     
  9. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,574
    I don't know why that would have an affect on the browser though.

    Chris,

    Do you have that site in your Restricted Sites on the Security tab, or the sites listed under the Privacy tab or in the hosts file?
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,048
    It did though. Adding it to the Restricted Sites fixed it right up. :)
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,574
    I don't have it in the Restricted sites but it is blocked under the Privacy Tab and in the hosts file so I guess that amounts to the same thing. That's why I'm curious if Chris has those entries. :)
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,048
    Should have the same effect. :)
     
  13. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,574
    Plus I'm too lazy to remove them to test it (at least for tonight). :)
     
  14. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,048
    I was thinking the same thing for myself... :D
     
  15. ckphilli

    ckphilli

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4,384
    Nope, sure don't. I keep thinking add ons for some reason...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1065846