back up and f-disk is in near..

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ron24151

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
293
Hello, i had my computer here for about 3 years now, and its getting kind of loaded up, i do all the caring and deleting i can. but w/ the kids playing on it and loading Aim, and all that good stuff, it may be time to reload...

is there a site where i can read how to back up a drive (c) and how to do it? like send all to a disc and pull of and load what i need?

i have a lot of programs that i would like to keep, and they were loaded off the internet, free to try and so much for buying, web addresss in favorites, any way of copying these w/ out writing them all down?

is this making sense?

then when this is all done like to zero it and start over..

so is there a site for this also?

i have a gateway and they call it zeroing..

thanks ron
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
If you are going to completely reformat and start over, you will need the to reinstall all of your applications.
 

911

Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
546
You will need to re-install all the programs that you downloaded from the internet, so you will need to keep the 'setup' files that you got, because everything on your c-disk will get fried. If a program is already installed, you can't just copy it back into your program files folder. If you have a CD or DVD burner, copy the setup files there, Floppys just won't cut it.

I use an external (USB) hard drive, which is like a gigantic floppy. I have a folder named 'downloads' and I save everything I download to it. Then I can install it from there, and always keep the original download. You can get one for about $1 per Gigabyte, if you shop around for sales and rebates ($80 for 80 GB). I just came across this extrordinary bargain.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1775613&CatId=136
 

wacor

Banned
Joined
Feb 22, 2005
Messages
27,340
reinstalling can be a pain. too bad there is not a way you could just copy C and transfer it to another hard drive

is the computer acting up?

many times a fresh install is a good way to go but you could always run hijack this and see if there are any infections there

do you defrag and what type of cleaning do you do? disc cleanup or something along the lines of CCleaner?
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
If you could just "copy C" and transfer it to another drive, you would then just have, what you currently have?? No?
 

wacor

Banned
Joined
Feb 22, 2005
Messages
27,340
WhitPhil said:
If you could just "copy C" and transfer it to another drive, you would then just have, what you currently have?? No?
data but not apps i believe. as mentioned earlier you need the install files
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top