1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Backing Up Files

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by krnjm, Nov 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. krnjm

krnjm Guest Thread Starter

I would like to back up the entire contents of my hard drive. I have Windows XP. I've never done this before. Is it possible to put it on CD? Can someone let me know how to do this?

Thanks!

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    no it wont be possible to put you harddrive onto CD {approx 650MB} however, you may be able to backup all your datafiles, depending on howmuch you save onto CD.
    What do you want to be able to do..
    Recover just the data or copy the entire drive using something like ghost?????

3. cronista

cronista

Karen:

Backing up your entire hard drive is a good idea but not very practical unless you have a serious reason to do so.

Technically, yes, you can do it. But probably not to a CD. On my WinXP-Pro machine, I have a tape backup connected that does automatic timed backups of certain folders every night at midnight. These are documents that I use in my work, and that would cost me, if not my job, certainly lots of $$ if I ever lost them. But I do not back up the full contents of my hard drive onto those tapes.

There are external / portable Hard Drives that are easier to use than a tape backup. They are realtively cheap and easy to connect. But for me it is easier to remove a casette tape to store somewhere other than in my home office than it is to have two external / portable hard drives and switch them every day for security. By the way, it was my insurance company that required me to perform backups and off-site storage of same. Imagine if I submitted a claim for thousands of dollars for work lost due to a fire.