Backing Up My Entire C: Drive!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

GoJoAGoGo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
42,011
First Name
Joe
Hi:

My O/S is Win ME. I presently have just a few programs from my C: Drive backed up. I used Easy CD Creator. I want to back up my entire C: Drive and wonder if Easy CD Creator will be the way to go or is there another program which I could use that would do a better job. Freeware or Shareware for a reasonable price will work.

Thanks....:cool:
 
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
743
Hey Cwool guy,

Are you trying to make a copies of data or save whole programs and settups? Easy CD would probably work fine for your personal stuff... photos, songs, mails and such.

I know it does not fall withing your Freeware parameter, but I have used Norton Ghost on three PCs with good success and actual had a major crash and completely restored the new HD back to the original - started up like it never missed a beat - with perfect success.



just a thought

- Castleheart :cool:




"...it escaped ..... into D mountains...."
 
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
743
Hey Hawk,

I've seen that site listed before and never could get it to load.
just checked again and it still doesn't for me. Has it been changed or maybe it evaporated? Clue me in. I would be anxious to check it out

- Castleheart :confused:
 
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
743
Well I'll be. I no sooner sent that last message than I tried again and it worked. Must be busy sometimes!


Never mind


- C
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
Could have been busy, they say that it is the most popular tutorial on the site, followed only by their one on Fdisk.

http://fdisk.radified.com/

I copied and pasted each to a Word document and put the site link at the top of the page for reference.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
The tutorial even has the command line for backing up your HD in 640meg slices so that they can be burned to CD's later if you don't have an extra partition or HD.
 

GoJoAGoGo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
42,011
First Name
Joe
Hi:

CastleHeart, thanks for your response. Yes I want to backup my entire HD, programs, setups, files, folders etc..... And if I need to format my HD, I would like to restore it back to the way it was as you say, without missing a beat. Nortons Ghost sounds like what I'm looking for.

I've done a little research looking for the best price and have discovered Nortons Ghost 2002 is rated higher than the 2003 version. Have you heard anything about this fact? I found this information at this site:
http://www.dealtime.com/GS2/GS2Stat...738108048&keyword=nortons+ghost&submit=Search

Nitehawk thanks for the Ghost tutorial link. I will read the entire tutorial before I make any final decisions. Sounds like I will go with Nortons Ghost but now must decide which to choose, the 2002 or 2003 version.

Thanks again...:cool:
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
As I understand it, the biggest difference between Ghost 2002 and 2003 is that 2002 and everything before that was run from the command line (DOS), 2003 is supposed to be able to run from both the command line and from within windows.

Other than that, I don't know what differences there are between 2002 and 2003. I'm used to the command line, so it's no big deal.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,836
Johnwill... About the NSW with Ghost. Do you know if Ghost is a "Full" version? I'm tinking back to when Symantec had GoBack bundled with NSW and it was a "Personal Edition" which did not have all the features of the Deluxe Edition.

Just wondering if they did a similar thing with Ghost.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
69
Just a question. I have used Ghost before to make an image of my computer and then restore my pc using my new image. my question is, Doesnt your PC have to have TWO hard drives or TWO partitions on the same disk to do this? If you make an image of your pc isnt it too large to fit on cd? and in that case if you put it on your hdd and then go and format your hdd, you also format your image. which is best way to do it, put image on cd, on another hdd, or on another partition?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top