1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

backing up PC

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by copiman, Dec 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. copiman

copiman Thread Starter

Let me start by saying I am a student studying computers and networking. I obtain PCs/laptops from family and friends to work on. What I want to do is back up the PC/laptop prior to working on it. When I say back up, I mean everything, (apps, OS, files, etc...). This way if I really mess it up, I can get the PC/laptop back to where it was before I started working on it. I have read about clone and image, but am still a little unsure as to exactly what they are and how to do one and then put it back on the PC/Laptop. I see XP,Vista,7, and 8. Any guidance in this area would be very helpful. Also, at this point, I'm only concerned about getting the thing back to where it was. Not concerned with continual back ups at this time.

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    I use Macrium Reflect Free to make an image to a USB external hard drive all the partitions or selected (e.g., those needed to restore the OS) partitions. You also use the program to make a "rescue CD" so that if disaster strikes you can boot to that and re-image the hard drive. I've used it with all Windows versions from XP through 8.1.

Another popular free utility is Easeus Todo Backup.

Some people prefer to clone the hard drive to another one. Then if the primary one fails they can simply physically swap in the clone.

3. copiman

copiman Thread Starter