1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Backup entire computer

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Falcon007, Apr 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Falcon007

Falcon007 Thread Starter

I am trying to find a program that will back up my entire computer to the littlest thing. I am planning on refomatting my hard drive but I dont want to lose anything. I am a pretty big gamer and I am trying to not lose any of my saved games, characters etc. Is there a way to do this? Thanks a lot.

I am running XP Pro, SP2

2. Elvandil

Elvandil

3. Falcon007

Falcon007 Thread Starter

Which one do you think would be the simplest? Im not very experienced with this kind of thing and I dont want to screw anything up

4. Elvandil

Elvandil

Most people here seem to like Acronis True Image. It is very easy to use, can make drive images (about 60% of the size of the used space on the drive), clone drives, and be scheduled to make backups in the background while you work. Acronis can restore an image to a new drive or partition, larger or smaller, so long as it will fit.

It can back up to any medium, including CD/DVD, but it is far easier to use a second drive, internal or external, since that makes the automatic backups easier.

The pay versions above are all easier to use and more user-friendly than the free ones. I have successfully imaged and restored Vista with Clonezilla, but it was not an easy process since the options are hard to understand and the instructions poor. But it works.

I've also used Drive Snapshot. No frills, small and easy.

So, it boils down to whether you want to spend money and what backup media you intend to use.

5. Gnomad

Gnomad