1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

backup options

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Dougj, Apr 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dougj

Dougj Thread Starter

This question is for anyone that may have seen something in their computer travels that may help me solve a problem. I am dealing with a piece of unix based communications h/w and s/w that normally backs up to 2.5GB tapes. Since it takes 5 or 6 tapes and 15 hours to fully back up the system I am looking for a device that would interface with the existing tape drive but output to a large capacity, reliable alternative storage media ( ie scsi HDD ).

Any ideas are greatly appreciated.

D.

2. raybro

raybro

I've no experience with Unix (is that the same or similar to Linux?), but you may want to take a look at Norton Ghost. They say in their manual it's compatible with Linux, tape and SCSI. I'm sure it will take some studying to understand how to use it (IF you can use it)

If you are interested, look Here. There is also a Corporate version that may have capabilities not contained in the standard version.

HTH :D

3. Dougj

Dougj Thread Starter

thanx much for the input Raybro. I am however at this time looking more for the actual h/w that I can use to interface from the extisting tape drive to the alternative backup device that will in turn hold the entire 14GB o/s that I need to backup.

doug

4. storage_man

storage_man

Dougj