1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Backup to CD-RW

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by shockeymoe, Sep 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shockeymoe

shockeymoe Thread Starter

I am buying a CD writer for a very small business office running Win98SE. They currently use a tape backup system which they want to replace with re-writable CDs.
    I want software that allows them to put a CD in the drive and come in to the office the next day with an incremental data-only backup written to the CD. They would take that CD out, put in another CD-RW, and repeat the process.
    I have no experience with rewritable CDs on Win98 so I am wondering about how the CDs get formatted. Does the CD writer come with formatting software? Does the backup program automatically format the CD?
    I want a process that is as slick as possible. Otherwise someone in the office will say "Why are we doing this? Tape was easier!" Thanks for your input.

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    you may also want to consider
    1) CD-RW's can easily be overwritten / formatted
    2) The life of CD's is short - so how long would you want to keep the backup.
    (although I have seen lots of aguments that the media will last 10years but the device becomes obsolete quicker :) :) )

3. shockeymoe

What would you suggest as an alternate media type? Tape is out... expensive, not well supported, media easily compromised (magnetism, stretching, etc.). The only alternative I have heard about is an external hard drive or a thumb drive. The thumb drive lacks capacity and the external drive does not lend itself to multiple backups.

4. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne