1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BAD clipping on all 3D programs!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by RaNger2000, Sep 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RaNger2000

    RaNger2000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    I have a gForce4 MX intigrated GPU with 32 MB. When I got it, it ran fine, but now, in every 3D program I run, I get some realy bad clipping ! this si not good becouse I cant take pictures of 3D models I make anymore becouse they clip REALY bad. I also play BF1942 and everything on that game clips!

    [​IMG]

    any help?
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Let's bump this back to the top for another look...anyone have any ideas on this one?
     
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,847
    First Name:
    Rob
    Try updating your DirectX to 9.0b and downloading the latest drivers from www.nvidia.com

    It might also be that the apps you're running are too much for a 32MB GF4, but if the same things worked before....
     
  4. zeddy

    zeddy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,612
    You can not have enough memory for 3d rendering.
     
  5. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Maybe there's not enough ventilation in the case for an integrated GPU...have you tried adding case fans or anything? Also, check to make sue that AA and AF aren't on (unless you want them to be)
     
  6. RaNger2000

    RaNger2000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Not sure what an AA or AF is. I would love to update my driver, but I just got confused on the DL page.

    As far as ventelation, I have several fans in the back (2 I think) one on the side of the case, and one on the top.
     
  7. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    If you're running Windows XP, then here's a link to the drivers.

    If you're running 95/98/ME, then here's the link for those drivers.

    AA stands for Anti-Aliasing, and AF stands for Anistropic Filtering. Usually, they make a 3d image look a lot better by getting rid of jagged edges, and stuff like that, but they slow down framerates in games...not sure of the effect in 3D programs. It can be changed in the video options control panel, or somewhere around there...I think the default is just set to let the application control it, so it shouldn't be a problem.
     
  8. RaNger2000

    RaNger2000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Oh ok, Yea, I have that off. I like to switch it on to take some screenshots of models, but I never leave it on. I now have the latest drivers (thnx) and I have had DirectX9 for a while.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165887

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice