Bad Drive/OS

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

RayW

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Messages
139
From previous threads I have narrowed my problem down to the hard drive and not my motherboard as previously thought. My computer would not post but still had power... So swapped questionable drive into good computer and got directly to start windows normally,safe mode...etc, when I tried any options the computer would imediately reboot, a super quick flash of windows start up screen the blue screen the rebooted itself (like 1 second). When I use questionable drive as slave my files are there and looks good...defraged the drive and used adware, etc to clean it up but still no good,same problem when i tried back as master... Any ideas Thanks RayW The bad drive is a newer Maxtor 80 Gig ATA/133
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Ray

I don't quite remember but the "bad" drive that you are putting in the "good" computer, what operating system do you have on it?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Windows 2000/XP do not respond well to being moved to another motherboard - typical they bluescreen and reboot or just reboot really quickly.

I fyou plan on running that hard drive in this computer then you will need to boot from your Windows CD and perform a Windows Reapir Installation in order to rebuild the Hardware Abstract Layer and have it boot up properly. Then you will need to install the appropriate drivers for the hardware in that computer.

If the hard drive was at fault then this computer should not be able to POST either. Does the other computer POST now? You don't need any drive for it to POST.
 

RayW

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Messages
139
Both computers are hp pavilions, diff. model #s, and running windows xp home. I never tried the good drive on the other computer,.. Tried new motherboard with bad drive and no luck...
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Again, you don't need to try another drive in the 'broken' computer as a computer does not need any drive at all to POST. Your problem may be a bad powersupply or CPU.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top