1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Bad hard drive?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ihatebestbuy, Jan 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ihatebestbuy

    Ihatebestbuy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Messages:
    175
    Hello,

    My son has my old computer, it is a Compaq Presario 7470 running win 98. Today he went to turn it on and got a black screen reading cannot read hard drive. If I hit teh cd rom button, then a message about not finding an operating system comes up. Did his hard drive go kaput, or is there something else I might be missing?
    He has a compaq presario 533mhz
    256mb ram
    win 98

    thanks for any help
    C
     
  2. n2gun

    n2gun

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
    If you know the maker you can go to their website and you should be able to get a utilty program to check it. Most major manufacters have it.
     
  3. Ihatebestbuy

    Ihatebestbuy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Messages:
    175
    Thats fine, but how do I run the utility on teh machine. I cant get the machine to do anything. turn it on, the compaq screen comes up and then it goes right to the black screen that reads.. Cannot read Hard drive.

    C
     
  4. carltasha

    carltasha

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    983
    if you cant see the drive I dont think you can fix it , check the conections.
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
  6. Ihatebestbuy

    Ihatebestbuy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Messages:
    175
    Thanks for the help guys,
    I went in to try out some suggestions on his compuetr, turned on the thing and the damn thing booted up and is working. I didnt even do anything to it yet. I have no idea why it is working now, but it is.

    I spoke to soon I think. Now I got a blue screen of death and the thing shut off, back to square one I guess

    C
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113079

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice