bad memory or not!?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Bascotie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
301
Hey guys,

I'm working on a computer that blue screens sometimes at Page_fault_in_nonpaged_area.

It has also ONCE thrown out an error code that referred to the memory. I ran memtest, and found a bunch of errors.

Took out TWO sticks (with TWO still inside), and ran memtest. Ran way longer with no errors.

Inserted a THIRD stick. no errors

Inserted a FOURTH stick with no errors.

Where did the errors go!?
 

Snagglegaster

Banned
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
1,906
Memory diagnostics tend to be the least reliable software diagnostics you can run. They often fail to detect bad modules. On the other hand, if you got errors running memtest, than you definitely either have a bad module or bad memory controller. In your case, I think one of the modules you used in the first test is defective. Which is why you always want to test a single module at a time. Hopefully, you paid attention to the errors the first time around and noted the address of the failed tests so you can identify the bad module without more wasted time.
 

Bascotie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
301
Memory diagnostics tend to be the least reliable software diagnostics you can run. They often fail to detect bad modules. On the other hand, if you got errors running memtest, than you definitely either have a bad module or bad memory controller. In your case, I think one of the modules you used in the first test is defective. Which is why you always want to test a single module at a time. Hopefully, you paid attention to the errors the first time around and noted the address of the failed tests so you can identify the bad module without more wasted time.
Shoot, I wish I did notice the address fields. The first time I ran it, within 10 minutes we had non-stop memory errors. I took out 2 sticks, nothing. Put in another, nothing. Put it the last stick thinking "this is the one", and nothing for over an hour so far. X_X
 

Snagglegaster

Banned
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
1,906
That's typical for modules that are going bad; they can exhibit erratic behavior and they often pass diagnostics, though they will get worse over time and eventually fail consistently. It often takes several hours of testing per module to find the defective part.
 

Bascotie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
301
That's typical for modules that are going bad; they can exhibit erratic behavior and they often pass diagnostics, though they will get worse over time and eventually fail consistently. It often takes several hours of testing per module to find the defective part.

I ran several hours of mem test on all 4 modules. I then ran a blend test of prime95 for the whole night (came out to over 12 hours) with not one error. Could it be that removing the modules and inserting them in a different order removed whatever was causing the issue (a short or electrical issue that got drained?)
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Sometimes re-seating the memory modules is all that it takes. Installing them in a different order may have also helped, if the modules are not the same then maybe the computer based the timings/speed off the stick in the first slot.
 

Bascotie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
301
Sometimes re-seating the memory modules is all that it takes. Installing them in a different order may have also helped, if the modules are not the same then maybe the computer based the timings/speed off the stick in the first slot.
I sure hope so because I've tested all modules for over 12 hours collectively. I am now testing one stick at a time for 4-5 hours each to make sure it is stable enough to give back.to. the customer. The memory all came with the computer in a weird number like 5+ gigs

I've had a similar problem.with a.close model computer and later found the mobo to be the issue
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top