Bad windows 8 problem!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Hermanator24

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
13
Hello, I recently did a factory on my windows 8 Acer computer and ever since my computer was almost unusable. I have done a full virus scan, optimization, clean, SFC SCANNOW in CMD, Updated everything and I also checked my startup processes and I only have 2 programs set... I don't know what to do and I would very much appreciate the help!
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Messages
1,081
Hi Hermanator24 and welcome. To start out what problems were you having before you did a factory reset? When you say you did an optimization and clean, what programs did you use? The problems could lie right there.
 

Hermanator24

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
13
Well I did the reset because my computer used to be able to play this game called Arma 3 at around 60 FPS and then I just randomly started getting around 20 FPS and I noticed my computer was slowly slowing down in general, I used Smart defrag by IObit and CCleaner and Glarys utilities to do the clean and I have Avast and Malwarebytes for anti virus/malware.
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,169
That would be your problem. Do you have any restore point PRIOR to using them?

FYI,any reg optimiser is, by definition, junkware.

Thanks,

v
 

Hermanator24

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
13
So cleaning the registry isn't a good thing? I do believe I have a restore point but I'm pretty sure I would of did a clean before the restore point.
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,169
Unless you do it manually, no, cleaning the registry is useless. If you do it manually, you can at least learn how to reformat and why, as opposed to just having to reformat. ;)
 

davehc

David
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
2,059
A factory reset - my experience is only with Dells- returns the OS to the condition it was in when put on the computer. This would be the OEM in most cases, who would have placed it, as an installable product, on the computer. Again in my case, it even restores the original partitions. When the computer restarts you are given a quick questionnaire as to how you want the OS installed.

I don't doubt, for one moment, Valis's comments, but I am sure a factory reset would not be affected by anything you had subsequently altered, as it is all erased anyway.

Whenever I conduct a factory reset, it starts the install process from the very beginning, with a required log in etc.

Your problem, I would suggest, must lie in your bios or your hardware., including drivers. Have a look in the device manager and try updating a few items - in particular the Graphics card and any intel items.
 

Hermanator24

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
13
I did update everything but I used a software to do it called IObit booster and I also installed all the windows updates
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top