Banding on second monitor - Windows 10

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ThatAjcGuy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
4
Earlier today I plugged in a second monitor to my laptop and there's banding on most videos I watch and most scales I view. I took two pictures of the issue on my iPhone, I attached the pictures below. I've tried messing around with my Intel Graphics Panel and the monitor settings itself. I've managed to minimize it from where it was in the beginning but it's still very noticeable to me. Is there anything I should try to fix it?
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/aoc-21-5-ips-led-hd-monitor-black/8163044.p?skuId=8163044
I believe this is the monitor I'm using. I'm also using this VGA to HDMI adapter.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OFQUDR...t=&hvlocphy=9019522&hvtargid=pla-318768076279
Any and all help would be appreciated.
-Ajc
 

Attachments

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,346
Have you set the resolution to 1920x1080 and the refresh rate to 60 ?
 

ThatAjcGuy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
4
Have you set the resolution to 1920x1080 and the refresh rate to 60 ?
The monitor has always been 1920x1080 and I changed the refresh rate from 59 to 60. It doesn't seem to have any effect on the banding.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,346
Ok, I suspect the HDMI to VGA adapter could be the culprit.
Can you test the monitor on another computer, preferably one with a VGA output ?
 

ThatAjcGuy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
4
Ok, I suspect the HDMI to VGA adapter could be the culprit.
Can you test the monitor on another computer, preferably one with a VGA output ?
I can't test it on another computer at the moment. I unplugged the monitor and plugged it back in and noticed that it still showed red where black should be. I think there's something wrong with the monitor itself since it wasn't plugged into anything and it still had the issue.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,346
Well if it shows red when there is no input from the laptop I would agree the monitor could be faulty.
I would try to test it on another computer anyway if you can, if it's a VGA to VGA connection that should solve it.
 

ThatAjcGuy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
4
Well if it shows red when there is no input from the laptop I would agree the monitor could be faulty.
I would try to test it on another computer anyway if you can, if it's a VGA to VGA connection that should solve it.
I'll have to try that tomorrow, thanks for the advice!
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,346
You're welcome, good luck with it and please let me know how it goes. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top