1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Bandwidth Capping?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Perad, Sep 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Perad

    Perad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    179
    My brother has a fetish for youtube and shite like that. This is making online gaming near impossible. I could smack him but i doubt that would make him stop.

    As i am dumped with the bill at the end of each month i want to limit the bandwidth he can use to 1Mbps.

    Does anyone know anything about implementing this kind of software? If so is it difficult? And do you know of any freeware to do the trick?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    No freeware that I can think of, the solution I recommend is a router that has QoS capability. Linksys has several in their product line, and the new Actiontec that Verizon gave me with my FiOS service has QoS.
     
  3. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    You could setup a Squid box, which in theory is free, but you would need a spare computer to run it on and learn a little bit about linux. I would take Johnwill's advice and buy a new router with QoS.
     
  4. kalisun

    kalisun

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    445
  5. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    You would have to install Net Limiter on his brothers computer and then he would be on the honor system for controlling his own bandwidth with the software.

    Du Super Controller and Bandwidth Controller would require all Internet traffic to go thru one computer and then out to the Internet. I don't think he would want to setup ICS on his computer. That would just really bog his computer down. You would really need a dedicated computer to really use those programs. I would just go with a router that can do QoS.
     
  6. wilson44512

    wilson44512

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,450
    since your paying for it. unplug him
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/504763

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice