1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Bandwidth Hogging

Discussion in 'Networking' started by cbrown6305, Feb 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cbrown6305

    cbrown6305 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    I share an internet connection via wireless router with 5 other guys. Its not too bad, but one guy is downloading crap 24hrs a day and when he does everyone else's internet browsing slows to crawl. I'm sick of going into his room and telling him to turn it off, so I'm wandering if there's anyway i can set my router so that his downloading doesn't interfere with everyone else's internet connection, also, is there anyway I can view how much bandwidth each person is using on my computer? Thanks!
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    you should be able to limit the bandwith, or at least disable his internet at certain times. What is your router model?
     
  3. cbrown6305

    cbrown6305 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    It's a Belkin F5D6231-4
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    OK, i have checked your manual and there seems to be no way to do it on the router. I guess the best thing to do would to block traffic for his machine on certain times, that way you guys can use the net more easily
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need a router that offers QoS capability, some of the Linksys models have that feature, and my Actiontec MI424WR router has the capability also.
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    Or do that :) Thanks JW. Learning more from you everyday :)
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What happens when I run out of new things? :eek: :p
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    well... we will cross that bridge when we get to it :p :D
     
  9. cbrown6305

    cbrown6305 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    Aww too bad... thanks anyways.
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    sorry we couldn't help :(
     
  11. O111111O

    O111111O

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    894
    arp-sk or hping3 in Cygwin or Linux

    /arp-sk -i eth1 -r
    + Running mode "reply"
    + IfName: eth1
    + Source MAC: DE:AD:BE:EF:FA:CE
    + Source ARP MAC: DE:AD:BE:EF:FA:CE
    + Source ARP IP : 192.168.1.1
    + Target MAC: ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    + Target ARP MAC: ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    + Target ARP IP : xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

    Where ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff = the MAC address of your download user.
    Where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx = the IP address of your download user.
    Where 192.168.1.1 = the default gateway of your network.

    Keep that running while you're trying to work/use Internet. It will prevent them from contacting the router.
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Wire cutters are easier to use. :D
     
  13. cmosads

    cmosads

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    theres a program out there called ccproxy....it does what ur looking for...it can throttle his download speed to a certain amount. it comes with a free trial...try it and if u like it buy it.
    all u have to do is install it on ur's or some1 elses pc and go to the person u want to limit and change their default gateway to the ip addy of the ccproxy computer.

    i hope that helps.
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I suspect anything that you have to configure the offending computer will be pretty ineffective. :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544142

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice