1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Bandwidth Priority HELP (my 1st post here)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by blizzard_beast, Dec 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blizzard_beast

    blizzard_beast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    OK, I am pretty sure this has been asked before but since I have a REALLY hard time loading/opening pages please forgive me for not doing a better 'search' on this forum.

    I am visiting a friend in another state.He has (i believe) a Netgear modem/router combo.

    There are 3 computers in use including mine.Two laptops , mine is a desktop.I am using a wireless Linksys WirelessG USB Network adapter.

    We get between 3-5.5 Mbps when I am able to check the speed (i miss my 15 Mbps speed back home).
    Anyway , everyone (except for me) is able to stay connected and browse the web without much of a problem.There are times (far and few between) when it seems I too am able to stay connected and the speed is decent but most of the time lately it's been a drag.

    I unplugged the modem/router (without resetting it) numerous of times and have made sure nobody is downloading like 20 torrents or something at a time but it's still slow as hell.

    I would appreciate ANY suggestions as to what to do.I KNOW it isn't my PC.

    Here is some more info from CMD :

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\robert>PING 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\robert>PING yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [209.191.122.70] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=626ms TTL=55
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=391ms TTL=55
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=590ms TTL=55
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=778ms TTL=55

    Ping statistics for 209.191.122.70:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 391ms, Maximum = 778ms, Average = 596ms

    C:\Users\robert>NBTSTAT -n

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    Wireless Network Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.69] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    ROBERT-PC <00> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
    ROBERT-PC <20> UNIQUE Registered

    C:\Users\robert>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : robert-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-G USB Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-17-67-21-73
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d803:da42:97ea:52cc%9(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.69(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 19, 2011 7:16:47 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, December 20, 2011 7:18:19 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 218108439
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-05-EA-06-00-1E-8C-2B-6B-0C

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100 Mbps Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-8C-2B-6B-0C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2cc7:1de1:9cc3:3dbf(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2cc7:1de1:9cc3:3dbf%10(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{E5978639-BF79-40C8-AF33-8B16F0EBA
    FFA}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    How are they connected?

    How about distance from the router?

    Anything gadget-like in the house that might interfere? Have you tried changing channels?

    (206.190.60.37 is Yahoo, but they have echo disabled.)
     
  3. blizzard_beast

    blizzard_beast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    By how 'they' are connected do you mean the other 2 laptops?
    Through wireless connection.

    If you mean the modem/router combo than it is connected via regular phone line.
    AT&T is the name of the ISP I believe.
    The distance is less than 15 feet (although the signal does have to go through 2 closed doors most of the time)

    As far as 'gadgets' or others things that could interfere , I don't see anything of that sort here.
    Not anywhere near my Wireless Network USB adapter anyway (unless you count the TV)

    I'm stumped because I can't figure out why the other 2 laptops have hardly any issues.

    When I first got here (about 3 weeks ago) all was good (most of the time)

    I get 'bursts' of uninterrupted,fast,working 'speeds' here and there but like I said before,most of the time it's just downright unusable ('Server not found','Connection has been reset'...etc)
     
  4. blizzard_beast

    blizzard_beast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    PS I haven't tried changing channels.
    Mind explaining how exactly would I go about it?
    You mean within the router setting?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,851
    First Name:
    Terry
  6. blizzard_beast

    blizzard_beast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    OK here it is :
     

    Attached Files:

  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,851
    First Name:
    Terry
    Good strong signal. No graph though? Sometimes that reveals fluctuations.

    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from Linksys's web site.

    Vista sometimes struggles with WEP. Would be worth trying w/o encryption; if that is better try WPA-PSK TKIP.

    I realize the router is not yours; I generally advise to make sure you have the latest firmware; then reset the router to factory default settings and reconfigure it.

    Have you heard about laptops and tablets? :D
     
  8. blizzard_beast

    blizzard_beast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I will make sure I have the latest Linksys drivers (although I believe I do already) and if that doesn't do it I'll ask my friend's permission to reset the router to default factory settings and try different encryption (WPA-PSK) or no encryption at all.
    Hope that will resolve the issue.
    Thanks for the suggestions TerryNet :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031998

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice