1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Basic computer maintainance

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by mooselips, Sep 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mooselips

mooselips Thread Starter

Hi....I'm kind of new at this computer stuff. I have a window me, and run with a dial up 56 modem, with msn as my browser. I have norton systemworks. I regulary use norton to clean cookies, also I use ad aware on regular occasions...I have 164 ram memory...Is there other things I should be utilizing to keep my pc fresh and at optimum performance? Thanks for all your tips...

2. BillC

BillC

What I do is go to PC PitStop and run several of their tests. I like their system because it tells me a lot about my computer's condition and then compares me to similar set-ups. It is popular and free. Give it a go. :)

3. raybro

raybro

If you have NSW, I suggest you run WinDoctor and Disk Doctor regularly. I run them about every 2 weeks. Also run Speed Disk to defrag your HDD. Norton also has a utility called System Doctor which can be used to activate sensors which monitor whatever system you feel you want to keep track of. Mine has 8 sensors active.

Be sure to run a full system Virus scan with NAV about once a month and keep your definitions up to date..

I have found running regular clean up of the registry to be advantagous. Keep the garbage out and the system runs smoother and faster. I recommend jv16. It's free.

http://www.freedownloadscenter.com/Reviews/r893.html

AdAware is good, but I prefer Spybot S&D. It has a built in utility you can use to block downloading of the more common spywares. Kinda like a AV definitions except it's for spyware. Many people use both AdAware and Spyware. You can get Spybot here: