1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Basic Wireless question

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Mikesa, Sep 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mikesa

Mikesa Thread Starter

I have a Belkin F5D6230-3 Wireless Cable Gateway Router. It has 1 Port for the Cable modem connection and 3 additional Lan ports. I'm assuming that limits me to a maximum of three wired or wireless client connections. If I get a Wireless Access Point and connect it to one of these three available ports, will I then be able to attach multiple wireless clients to my network. Sorry if this is obvious, but I am new to wireless but benefitting trmendously from this forum.

Thanks,
    MIke

2. springbrk200

springbrk200

You should not have a problem connecting multiple computers to the wireless access point. You should be able to connect as many wireless clients as the access point can support.

3. Mikesa

Mikesa Thread Starter

I understood that the WAP would not be too limited. I thought that someone told me, or I read that, the Belkin Wireless Cable Gateway/Router, although accepting wired or wireless, would accept no more than three clients total. I thought that if the Belkin Gateway/Router was limited to clients, wired or wireless, by the three available ports, then it wouldn't see multiple clients from the AP coming into one port of the router. If I'm not limited to wireless clients on my Belkin Wireless Cable Gateway/Router, that's great. If I am, and an AP connected to one of the ports expands my wireless client capabilities, that would work out. Once again, my apologies as I'm a neophyte with wireless networks.

Thanks,
    Mike

4. Mikesa

Mikesa Thread Starter