1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Batch File for loading applications

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ibm37, Sep 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ibm37

    ibm37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    HI,

    Can someone show me am example on how to create a batch file,
    that I can just keep on my desktop, and double click so as to load half a dozen apps? (ie through notepad)

    I would like to load say 2 windows of Internet Explorer ( 2 different url's ) and a few apps running from C drive, and some server's...

    Thanks
     
  2. stod73

    stod73

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
  3. ibm37

    ibm37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    Cheers nice cool site!
    just dabbling now, loading IE Pages no problem, when trying
    to load programs from C drive just opening multiple DOS windows?..I will eventually suss it!?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You should be able to run a single batch file to invoke many applications, perhaps if you could be more specific as to what you want to do...
     
  5. ibm37

    ibm37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    Well, basically I am just playing about on home PC, loading a few apps and some IE windows to set pages. But @ work ( WIN NT)
    when I start work I need to open about 8 apps, a few on my C drive, some point to a remote server, and would be nice to say open 2 windows of IE say one of the internet, and one og my local intranet home page.

    As an example :Start Dreamweaver.exe

    START msimn.exe


    START http://www.yahoo.com

    START C:\IBM\IBM.htm

    START C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PowerDVD.exe

    START FlasKMPEG.exe

    Now even without full pathe Dreamweaver and Express open fine, as do the two browser windows, Flaskmpeg.exe cannot be found even when typing full path, and PowerDVD ( where I have entered full path says cannot find C:\Program...
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Try putting quotes around the path and file name, it'll work much better. :) Without quotes, the first space terminates that command for DOS, and that's why it can't find the file. For example:

    START "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PowerDVD.exe"
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168300

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice