1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Battery auto shut off but still shows a charge

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by effrum, Nov 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. effrum

effrum Thread Starter

After some light searching I have not found anything that is quite similar enough to my problem to be helpful... though I have probably missed a good amount of info.

I have been using my HP dv7 laptop for about 2 years now. It has been a beastly laptop so far able to play almost any game on battery for a good amount of time or stay charged for light use for long periods of time.

A few days ago for the first time ever my laptop just straight up shut down instantaneously while I was in class. I remembered the battery being around 55% when it shut down.

I pressed the power button and it turned back on so I thought it was just a weird system hiccup but when it started to get to the bios it shut down again. Weird.

When I got back to my place I charged it back up full and then unplugged it and the same thing happened around 50%.

It happens around the same percentage each time. From this I would suspect a bad battery which happened to my last laptop but I am able to get it to boot for about 5 seconds after it dies and I turn it back on but then it just shuts off again. Also when I plug it back in after a sudden power off, it shows that the battery is still around 50%. So strange to me but maybe someone has a clue what is going on or can help me out. Thank you.

2. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    So it runs on the battery until it reaches about 50% and then shuts off? If so that's not uncommon and a sign of a battery failure.

3. effrum

effrum Thread Starter