1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Battlefield 2 black screen crash.

Discussion in 'Games' started by Mayor Quimby, Mar 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mayor Quimby

    Mayor Quimby Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    369
    When i launch bf2, the splash screen launches, then i get a black screen, then the game crashes to desktop.

    things i have tried.
    -Reinstalling the game
    -updating sound and video driver.
    -updating windows (its all updated)
    -Try running a game with .Exe fix (to make sure it was not a dvd drive issue)
    -Running it under Window XP sp2 mode and under administration right

    I can run Crysis, and Call of Duty 4 just without any problems.

    System Spec:
    -AMD Athlon X2 6400
    -4 gig corsair XMS ram
    -Bernstein 8 channel HD audio
    -EVGA geforce 9600 gt video card (factory overclocked to 740 mhz)
    -DFI Lan Party 790fx-M2R motherboard.
    -650 watt sli certified ANtec Powersupply.
    -Window Vista basic home edition 32 bit OS

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Ok, I solved the problem. If anyone else who is having this problem, here is what I did.

    Went to:

    Document > BAttlefield 2 > Profile
    -Open up the Audio.con File
    - under *AudioSettings.setProvider "software"* Change "software" to "Hardware"
    -IT should look like this with change ------> AudioSettings.setProvider "hardware"

    So here is how my audio.con file looks like now.

    AudioSettings.setVoipEnabled 1
    AudioSettings.setVoipPlaybackVolume 1
    AudioSettings.setVoipCaptureVolume 1
    AudioSettings.setVoipCaptureThreshold 0.1
    AudioSettings.setVoipBoostEnabled 0
    AudioSettings.setVoipUsePushToTalk 1
    AudioSettings.setProvider "hardware"
    AudioSettings.setSoundQuality "High"
    AudioSettings.setEffectsVolume 1
    AudioSettings.setMusicVolume 0.33
    AudioSettings.setHelpVoiceVolume 1
    AudioSettings.setEnglishOnlyVoices 0
    AudioSettings.setEnableEAX 1
     
  2. Blackrain

    Blackrain

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    i have the same problem and followed your steps and ive done all the steps you have done

    system specs
    NVIDIA 8800 GT 512mb
    3gigs Ram
    Windows Vista Home Premium
     
  3. Mayor Quimby

    Mayor Quimby Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    369
    Did it fix it? because it can also be video issue.

    go to Document > BAttlefield 2 > Profile
    -Open up video.con using text document.

    Try launching the game at different resulotion. My freinds PC would only launch at 1600x1200 on window vista. Try out different resolution compatible with your monitor in order for it to work.
     
  4. Blackrain

    Blackrain

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    ahh yes my BF2 works great thanks for the help
     
  5. msh1582

    msh1582

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    i have downloaded battlefield2 and its Demo.
    when i am playing Single and multyplayers in demo there is no problem
    but when i play multiplayers all of sudden black screen is jumping up and down!:confused:
    i reinstall so many times but ...
    my system:
    CPU 3.00 g Intel
    1.50 g of ram
    Geforce 6800 XT
     
  6. bonanzaboy

    bonanzaboy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    ive had the screen splash/crash issues too and believe me there are hundreds of us out there as ive been searching. i have to say my case is similar to yours but different in that i have been playing bf2 for months and suddenly it decided to so this to me. i have read about the audio.con and video.con fixes but when i get to that step my computer says " windows cannot open this file " help me out guys as resorting to playing CS isnt cutting it ne more
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/696143

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice