becoming administrator

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

deanercan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
5
windows 10- I am the owner of my pc but cannot upgrade programs or download software without being an administrator with privileges. I have tried enabling the hidden administrator account and followed all directions with no success. I have also tried becoming the only administrator but it appears if i want to name myself as am administrator I have to be one. Can this be that tough? Plz help
 

lochlomonder

Colin
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
3,467
I have tried enabling the hidden administrator account...
What, precisely, did you try to activate the Workstation Administrator account?

I have also tried becoming the only administrator but it appears if i want to name myself as am administrator I have to be one.
Does anyone else have access to the PC who has Administrator rights on it?
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,185
When your account was made, it was not set up as an Admin.
So you need to get to where you can log in to the Administrator account and then change your account to Admin type.
 

deanercan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
5
What, precisely, did you try to activate the Workstation Administrator account?

i have tried so many things-everthing tells me I cant access the hidden administrator account without being an administrator
Does anyone else have access to the PC who has Administrator rights on it?
What, precisely, did you try to activate the Workstation Administrator account?


Does anyone else have access to the PC who has Administrator rights on it?
no I am the pc owner and just want to be able to download software,etc
 

deanercan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
5
When your account was made, it was not set up as an Admin.
So you need to get to where you can log in to the Administrator account and then change your account to Admin type.
Where would that be-everytime i try to log in to administrator acct it says i need to be an administrator to do so
 

lochlomonder

Colin
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
3,467
no I am the pc owner and just want to be able to download software,etc
You didn't answer the first question, though; this one: What, precisely, did you try to activate the Workstation Administrator account?
 

deanercan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
5
You didn't answer the first question, though; this one: What, precisely, did you try to activate the Workstation Administrator account?
i dont know if it is a workstation account,but in trying to enable the hidden administrator account, I have tried using command prompt then typing netuseradministrator/active:yes-both with and without parenthesis and I get a reply that system cannot find the path-net user not recognized- comes back to w/o an administrator password I cant become an administrator
 

lochlomonder

Colin
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
3,467
netuseradministrator/active:yes
This is all wrong. Open up an elevated command prompt, copy and paste the command below into the window, and then hit the Enter key.

net user administrator /active:yes
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,067
To open an elevated command prompt window right click the start icon at bottom left then click on Command Prompt (Admin)
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
792
Hi managed, since V1709 the cmd prompt from start (win + x) has been replaced by Powershell (admin), you can get it back, however you need to do this in settings. No worry as powershell accepts the net cmds just as well, so using powershell (admin) will work. BTW if you type cmd (press enter) in powershell, a cmd prompt will open within the powershell window. The user will need to restart and then switch users to access the admin account.

You can also elevate your standard account to admin from an elevated cmd prompt (or Powershell(admin) prompt.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,067
Hi jenae,

I just checked and I have Powershell but thought it was simpler to use cmd in my post !
 

deanercan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
5
Hi managed, since V1709 the cmd prompt from start (win + x) has been replaced by Powershell (admin), you can get it back, however you need to do this in settings. No worry as powershell accepts the net cmds just as well, so using powershell (admin) will work. BTW if you type cmd (press enter) in powershell, a cmd prompt will open within the powershell window. The user will need to restart and then switch users to access the admin account.

You can also elevate your standard account to admin from an elevated cmd prompt (or Powershell(admin) prompt.
I dont know if my pc is different-windows 10 or not but everything I'm trying doesnt workIdo appreciate you all trying to help-but if i tryto elevate it tells me i need to be an administrator to do so,and if i try to use powershell admin it brings up the famous- do you want to make these changes-with only answer being no or sign in with administrator password
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
792
Hi, press the win + r keys together, in the run dialogue box type:-

msconfig (press enter) system configuration will open, select the "Boot" tab, put a check in "Safe boot" and restart computer.

Your computer will boot to safe mode.

In safe mode press the win + r keys together, in the run dialogue box type:-

cmd (next press the ctrl+shift+enter keys together) an elevated cmd prompt will open, copy the below cmd, right click anywhere in the cmd prompt window and select "paste" the cmd will append to the prompt, press enter.

net user administrator /active:yes

Now go back to a run cmd (win + r) and this time type msconfig, press enter, open the "boot" tab and uncheck "Safe Boot" restart computer, into normal mode. Go to shutdown and select the option to switch users you will see a Admin account choose this, open control panel "user accounts" and elevate your user to an admin account.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,185
When asked for the Administrator password, have you tried just pressing the "Enter" key.
This works if NO real password has been added.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
13,645
The answer is simple. If your current account is not administrative, then you cannot use it to install software or activate the hidden Administrator.

In the old days prior to Windows 10, you can get to an admin command prompt in Safe Mode, but not anymore.

The first account created when you installed Windows is administrative.

If this is not your PC, or you bought it from another person, you need to ask the admin which is the administrative account and what the password is.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top