Beep at Startup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

QuantumNexxus

A few days ago I tried to add another monitor to my setup. At first it worked fine, but there wasn't enough space on my desk for 2 monitors, so I unplugged everything pretty safely, no yanking or anything. Once it was ready, I turned it on, and an error came up. It was one of those light blue screens with the text smiley face saying "There's an error, we'll restart it for you."

It never restarted, so I held the power button and turned it off. When I went to turn it back on, 1 beep sounded, and nothing showed up on the screen. I checked all the cords, and everything was fine. Of course I restarted it again, and it did the same thing.

I googled a bunch of stuff, like beep codes for certain motherboards. I didn't find it too helpful (probably because I'm not too good with computers). I tried to remove my GPU (EVGA 750 Ti, if that helps), my audio card, and RAM, and turned the computer back on again. Same beep, same issue as before. I'm guessing it's either the card drive or more like, the CPU (Intel Core i5). If anyone needs the recording of the beep (because reading text of a sound can be kind of hard) I can attach it.

If anyone can help me, that would be amazing!

two things you can do to help us, as lochlomonder said make and model of mother board so we know what the beep code is telling you, and then you can get us a picture of the error code. other wise, open her up replug everything and try again

QuantumNexxus

The Acer N1996 motherboard, and can't really give an error code as nothing is showing up on screen.

QuantumNexxus

Checking the motherboard manual, it said that the motherboard should have an AMI BIOS. After checking the beep codes for this, it said 1 beep means you have a RAM issue, and should replace it. Can someone assure this?