1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Beginner Needs Help! Would like to wire house with Ethernet cable for internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Adame24, Aug 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Adame24

Adame24 Thread Starter

Hello. I would like to wire internet to more rooms in my house. I currently have a Linksys wireless router, and I am running cat 5e to the rooms. It has only 4 ports. I need 6 ports. Is it in my best interest to find another router with 6 ports, or should I get a "switch" or "hub". Any tips appreciated. I want to keep my wireless capabilities, but be on a wired network. Also will the speed of my internet be jeopardized?

THanks,

Adam

2. Adame24

Adame24 Thread Starter

Any tips. I am really new to this, I am trying to learn as many terms as possible so I don't sound stupid.

3. N E Key

N E Key

Buy a small workgroup 8 port switch. They are not overly expensive, gives you a couple of ports for future growth.

4. wallyb1280

wallyb1280

Or by cheap wireless cards I got Belkin USB wireless cards for less than $40. You dont have to open your computer up to install an internal card although that can be an option. And to answer your second question. As long as you are not downloading, you should have equal amounts of feed to each line if all you are doing is surfing the web. And I dont believe it reduces much if you are an online gamer either. Never tried that part yet (on line gaming and having another computer on the net). But i do know torrenting, using u torrent and stuff like that will slow you down.

5. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator