Beginner Needs Help! Would like to wire house with Ethernet cable for internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Adame24

Hello. I would like to wire internet to more rooms in my house. I currently have a Linksys wireless router, and I am running cat 5e to the rooms. It has only 4 ports. I need 6 ports. Is it in my best interest to find another router with 6 ports, or should I get a "switch" or "hub". Any tips appreciated. I want to keep my wireless capabilities, but be on a wired network. Also will the speed of my internet be jeopardized?

THanks,

Adam

Adame24

Any tips. I am really new to this, I am trying to learn as many terms as possible so I don't sound stupid.

Buy a small workgroup 8 port switch. They are not overly expensive, gives you a couple of ports for future growth.

Or by cheap wireless cards I got Belkin USB wireless cards for less than $40. You dont have to open your computer up to install an internal card although that can be an option. And to answer your second question. As long as you are not downloading, you should have equal amounts of feed to each line if all you are doing is surfing the web. And I dont believe it reduces much if you are an online gamer either. Never tried that part yet (on line gaming and having another computer on the net). But i do know torrenting, using u torrent and stuff like that will slow you down.

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
I suggest the switch, an 8 port switch can be had for $30 or less. Wired will always be much more reliable than wireless, faster, more secure, and easier to get running. Wireless has one good attribute going for it, no wires! :D