Behind Firewall

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

marietho

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
8
I cannot play any of the games in Yahoo or Pogo. My Java is not working. I have checked my Java and all is correct. I do get an alert when trying to to play games that I am behind a firewall. Any help I can get would be aprreciated. Thank You.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2002
Messages
2,246
if it is a router it is under the options and you need a ip address of the router to access it.

if it is a software firewall you need to access the options in the program menu
 

marietho

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
8
How do I go to options in the program menu? We have a router but no longer have a second computer. Should I unhook it from the cable modem?
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2002
Messages
2,246
that would work but the router provides great security at keeping bad stuff out
so to acess the router click on the icon on the desktop "my net work places
go to lan or high speed internet
right click and select status
click support
see the default gateway and the number beside it that is the ip address of your router
then open a internet browser window and type in that address.

the rest is up to the brand of router. stuff like passwords i cannot help you with but i know you should be able to let pogo another java stuff through through the settings
 

marietho

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
8
I aprreciate all your help but I am very computer illiterate and I am not sure what you mean. I found the Gateway Defalt and I put the address in a browser window but now I am lost from there.:confused:
 

Miz

Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
2,146
First, what kind of router do you have? Linksys, Netgear, something else? The name and model number will help us help you configure it properly.

That said, I use a Linksys 4-port router with two computers connected through it to DSL and have experienced no problems with Java games on either the Win98 or XP system. The XP system is even running a software firewall as well.

Sooo...it might be some strange firewall configuration within the router. If that turns out not to be the problem, it's possible Java needs to be reinstalled.
 

marietho

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
8
I aprreciate all the help. I am just computer illiterate I am not sure what you are talking about. I don't think with me you could be to basic.
 

marietho

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
8
the name of my router is Gigafast Ethernet and the serial # is A24800-1008. I hope this will help.
 

marietho

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
8
Someone asked for the name of my router yesterday and here it is. I hope this will help. my router is Gigafast Ethernet and the serial # is A24800-1008. I hope this will help.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top