Belarc Advisor - Safe to use this program that sees evreything on my computer?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

marie500

Thread Starter
Joined
May 6, 2002
Messages
829
A couple of weeks ago I ran the Belarc Advisor program. I really like the way it identifies everything on my computer, it makes it easy to give information to you guys about whatever gadget, software, hardware, cards, etc. I have. Later that day I had a trojan situation, which had me looking for exes that had installed that day, etc. I saw Belarc, and gave serious thought about the way it sees and knows all, how it's connected to the internet, and the trojan had me quite nervous and jumpy...so I deleted Belarc.

Can anyone tell me if Belarc is a safe, a tried and true thing to use? I would very much like to use it without worrying, and maybe I overreacted when I deleted it. But the way it spits out detailed info about everything on my computer in one or two seconds, the way it's it's connected to the internet..I don't know, it does make me think twice now. Does anyone have experience with Belarc?
 

bassetman

Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
As far as I know, it installs a prog that reads your HD and does not sen any info anywhere!

So, yes, I think it is toally safe to use!


John
 

angelize56

Always remembered in our hearts
Joined
Apr 17, 2002
Messages
82,163
TechTv had this for users worried about Belarc:

<b>PRIVACY OF YOUR PROFILE INFORMATION</b>

The Belarc Advisor keeps your PC profile on your PC and does not send it to a web server, including Belarc's server.

Belarc is able to personalize a web page based on your profile using our patented (U.S. patent number 5665951) and patent pending technologies included in the Belarc Advisor.

Please let us know if you have any questions or how you feel about this issue by sending mail to info@belarc.com

I have used it and feel confident if TechTv had no problem suggesting its use. :). Hope this helps you! Take care. angel :)
 

marie500

Thread Starter
Joined
May 6, 2002
Messages
829
I'm glad to hear this, and especially the part about TechTV's endorsement. Belarc is great. But you know how suspicious you get when you have a trojan or virus (if you've had them, that is!). Thanks, guys, for answering!!
 

angelize56

Always remembered in our hearts
Joined
Apr 17, 2002
Messages
82,163
marie: You're welcome! :)

John: Yep you're right! :)

Take care. angel :)
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2002
Messages
2,985
This is from a very old thread.

I used Belarc and it constantly wanted internet access and if I refused no information was forthcoming.
I have emailed Belarc twice and both times no reply.
It is now gone from my computer. (n) I stick with Aida32.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
Belarc is safe, the thread boyoh53 is referring to is slightly misleading.

because Belarc uses IE to display it's information it sems to connect, but it only goes to the internal server inbuilt into every windows computer and is a local machine only. it never goes on the net and is only displayed on your computer.

But I do prefer aida32 as it gives more & better information about your computer.

both have their place & the belarc log is easier to transmit if asking for remote help
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
2,438
The Belarc Advisor builds a detailed profile of your installed software and hardware, including Microsoft Hotfixes, and displays the results in your Web browser. All of your PC profile information is kept private on your PC and is not sent to any web server.

The Belarc Advisor only outputs its results to your local computer and does not send up your PC profile to a Web server or anywhere else. For more information, please read Belarc's privacy policy: http://www.belarc.com/Privacy.html
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top