1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Belkin 802.11g Wireless G USB Network Adapter won't connect.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Masamune12003, Aug 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Masamune12003

    Masamune12003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    I bought this yesterday and have still not managed to make it work, i'm on a laptop running windows 2000, it's a Dell Inspirion 800 (or something like that) and it's about five years old, i got it from my mums boyfriend so any other information is unbeknownest to me.
    I have installed everything from the CD that came with it and plugged it in, all that happens is it flashes and doesn't connect, when i open the utility it shows the me the My Computer -!> Router -!> Internet and won't connect and doesn't even find my router even though the router can see it (apparently, thats just what i've been told).
    I have tried changing the options but the Advanced Options won't open at all and neither will the router options.
    When i tried the connectivity test I get something like the first four passing and anything beyond WAN just failing, i would be more specific but i can't get at it right now.
    I know i should have looked first but i have just searched google and seen some pretty negative reviews on Belkin products.
    I can't afford another one and won't be able to take it back so any help would be sooooo appreciated!
    By the way, I connect to a Netgear router (can't remember the model number), before this i had a D-Link which worked perfectly well but he end of the USB broke of so it won't work anymore :(
    Well as i said any help will be greatly appreciated. :cool:
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Is your router's SSID broadcast enabled?

    Until you get a connection, disable encryption.

    When you scan for available networks, do you find yours? If so, what happens when you try to connect?
     
  3. Masamune12003

    Masamune12003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    I have no idea, i can't access my router at the moment, i'm using a a iBook G4 and i have no idea why it won't let me, i could do it when i was online through the win2000 machine, I don't find any networks whatsoever and i can't disable or enable anything.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you post make and models of routers/modems/pc's etc

    i think this is OK for windows2000

    start>
    control panel>
    system>
    hardware tab>
    device manager button>

    network adapters
    click on the + sign

    post backs whats there

    also any ! X or ?

    ------------------------

    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
     
  5. Masamune12003

    Masamune12003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    I will reply in about half an hour i think, this post will be edited with the information, i have to get the asked for stuff.
     
  6. Masamune12003

    Masamune12003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Computer: Dell Inspiron 8000
    Adapter: Belkin Wireless G USB Network Adapter Model: F5d7050 v4
    Router: Netgear DG834G v2


    Network Adapters: Belkin Wireless G USB no ! X or ?.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ipconfig /all results
     
  8. Masamune12003

    Masamune12003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Windows 2000 ip configuration
    Ethernet Adaptor Local Area Connection 7:
    Media State ... Disconnected
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so in device manager it sees the USB wireless device - as working properly
    But if you do an IPCONFIG /ALL
    it does not report the wireless device

    correct
     
  10. Masamune12003

    Masamune12003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Uhhh yeah as far as i know.
    I'm not sure on the technical bits but it sees it but won't connect so yeah.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    goto
    control panel
    network connections

    whats listed there
     
  12. Masamune12003

    Masamune12003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    DelNet
    Direct Connection
    Direct Connection 2
    Local Area Connection 7 (this has my Belkin Wireless as it's device name)
    Tiscali Broadband
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    right click on the
    local area connection 7
    properties
    whats there

    also if you can - try to download and load this program
    Free software to check signal strength of wireless is netstumbler 0.4.0 available for download from http://www.stumbler.net/
    I think it works on win2K
     
  14. Masamune12003

    Masamune12003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Configure

    Components:
    Client Service NetWare
    Client for Microsoft Networks
    NetBEUI Protocol
    NWLink NetBIOS
    NWLink IPX/SPX/NetBIOS Compatible Tansport Protocol
    Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)

    That's it, i don't know if you wanted emt og o into configure.
     
  15. Masamune12003

    Masamune12003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Is there anything i can do to fix this?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/493267

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice